Queen of Shadows by Sarah J Maas

THIS REVIEW WILL CONTAIN SPOILERS FOR THE THRONE OF GLASS SERIES,  NOT INCLUDING QUEEN OF SHADOWS.

queen of shadowsGenre: YA Fantasy
Pages: 656
Publisher: Bloomsbury
Format: Paperback
Source: Bloomsbury
Rating:
Buy the Book: Waterstones, Amazon, The Book Depository
Goodreads
Blurb:

Everyone Celaena Sardothien loves has been taken from her. But she’s at last returned to the empire—for vengeance, to rescue her once-glorious kingdom, and to confront the shadows of her past . . .

She will fight for her cousin, a warrior prepared to die just to see her again. She will fight for her friend, a young man trapped in an unspeakable prison. And she will fight for her people, enslaved to a brutal king and awaiting their lost queen’s triumphant return.

Celaena’s epic journey has captured the hearts and imaginations of millions across the globe. This fourth volume will hold readers rapt as Celaena’s story builds to a passionate, agonizing crescendo that might just shatter her world.


Review:

How do I even begin to review Queen of Shadows? First off, let me start by telling you that it did take me a week to finish this book however that was not because of the book. It was in fact because I was in a huge reading slump and I just did not want to read at all. However I tried to push through this as much as I could because it was Queen of Shadows. I have been waiting for this book for a year and then it finally came. I tried to write this review without spoiling any of the previous books in the series but I just couldn’t.

Heir of Fire was probably my least favourite book in the series until that ending and Queen of Shadows had a similar effect on me. I wasn’t  completely hooked onto the story until 75% through the book but I still loved the first part but it was just slower. Maas was building up to a big epic event and boy did it impress. I was unable to predict what Aelin was doing/ would do next.

Aelin is completely different to Celaena but I think I liked that. Seeing how they contrast each other is interesting because at heart they are the same person but really aren’t. Aelin was badass and focused however Celaena was just brutal. Whilst Aelin is fabulous, the other characters were my favourite part of this novel. Especially Aedion, Rowan, Elide and Dorian. I loved how every character had their own unique characteristic and they were all involved in the story in different ways. I just wish we had seen a little bit more of Aedion.

I don’t like Manon. Her chapters bored me in Heir of Fire and they also bored me in Queen of Shadows however as Queen of Shadows progressed, I began liking her a lot more and I can see myself liking her a lot more in the next installments in this series. Another character that I didn’t like is Chaol. I never liked him but he got a lot worse in this book. Every little thing he did annoyed me. I did however like Nesryn and Lysandra. I loved the fact that Aelin made more female friends because it’s just brilliant. More badass female friendships to back.

So overall, I loved this book. I don’t know if it was my favourite book in the series because honestly, I can’t remember the others but it was brilliant. Maas surprised us and shocked us at every turn but also managed to keep it light with humour and romance dotted around. It is weird to think about different the plot of Queen of Shadows is to the plot of Throne of Glass but hey, it shows great character/ plot development. I can’t wait to find out what Sarah J Maas has in store for us in the fifth book in this series.

2 thoughts on “Queen of Shadows by Sarah J Maas

Leave a Reply

