The Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan

sword of summerGenre: Mythology
Pages: 528
Publisher: Puffin
Format: Paperback Proof
Source: Puffin
Rating: 5 stars
Buy the Book: Waterstones, Amazon, The Book Depository
Goodreads
Blurb:

Magnus Chase has always been a troubled kid. Since his mother’s mysterious death, he’s lived alone on the streets of Boston, surviving by his wits, keeping one step ahead of the police and the truant officers. One day, he’s tracked down by an uncle he’s never met—a man his mother claimed was dangerous. His uncle tells him an impossible secret: Magnus is the son of a Norse god. The Viking myths are true. The gods of Asgard are preparing for war. Trolls, giants and worse monsters are stirring for doomsday. To prevent Ragnarok, Magnus must search the Nine Worlds for a weapon that has been lost for thousands of years. When an attack by fire giants forces him to choose between his own safety and the lives of hundreds of innocents, Magnus makes a fatal decision. Sometimes, the only way to start a new life is to die . . .


Review:

I received this book in exchange for an honest review and this did not affect my opinion at all.

I love Rick Riordan. I am a massive fan of his Percy Jackson series and his Heroes of Olympus series and even though I have yet to pick up the Kane Chronicles, I’m pretty sure I’m going to love that too. As soon as this book was announced, I knew that I was going to read it and love it. So therefore when I was offered it for review, I couldn’t say no. It arrived and I started reading it almost straight away.

loki fangirling

Rick Riordan is the king of sass. Percy Jackson was one of the most sassiest and sarcastic characters to ever exist. However, Magnus Chase may even be sassier than Percy! I loved Magnus Chase as a protagonist because despite being a lot like Percy, he was also quite different. Unlike Percy, Magnus isn’t very loyal at the start but it’s interesting to see him grow. I loved his sass and he made me laugh a lot more than Percy did which is shocking! You can see just how fabulous he is through the incredibly awesome and sarcastic chapter titles. It was also great to see references to the world of Percy Jackson even though Magnus has never met Percy. Also don’t worry, Annabeth does appear in this book!

One of the main things I loved about this book was the diversity. The main female lead was a badass Valkyrie. She was also a Muslim who wears a hijab! I have been waiting for a main character in a YA book who wears a hijab and the fact that she wore one and she was a badass fighter, made it even better. Yep, Samirah was just god damn amazing. It’s easy to see how fabulous she is and to become obsessed with her(like I did). She is quite possibly the strongest of the main characters emotionally and physcially and did I mention, she’s badass too?! Another one of the main characters is deaf which isn’t something you see in YA. I thought it would get a bit confusing when it came to having to communicate during battle but it didn’t. Rick Riordan pulled that off perfectly.

There were many amazing aspects of this novel including Jack the Sword and Blitzen the Dwarf but one thing that I loved the most about it was the Gods. Rick Riordan writes amazing action packed books but still teaches you about mythology along the way. I have never looked into Norse Mythology before and I don’t know much about it. However despite the fact that the Norse Gods aren’t as present in this book as the Gods have been in his previous books, I still learned quite a lot of new interesting stories about them. I love how Rick Riordan takes the Gods and puts his own twists on them. For example, Thor in this book loves to watch human TV and there are many references to shows in his scenes. In fact, the whole book is riddled with pop culture references. From Taylor Swift to Arrow, Rick Riordan is a perfect reference maker.

So overall, this book is perfect. It’s perfect for existing Rick Riordan fans and perfect for people who are new to Rick’s work. It is action-packed and thrilling but it will still have you crying with laughter. When this book comes out in October, everyone is going to love it.

bow down to rick

5 thoughts on “The Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan

  1. AH I NEED TO READ THIS NEW SERIES! Rick Riordan is amazing and that GIF at the end totally sums up how I feel about him. Shamefully I have not read the Percy Jackson series but I loved the Heroes of Olympus series so FREAKING MUCH!
    Riordan is such a blessing. His way of writing different types of mythologies is simply fantastic and I love him for that!
    Great review! 😄

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

