August Wrap Up

The end of August means that I am starting college very soon and this scares me as I have no idea where my summer went. This month started out well for reading however towards the end of the month, my reading slowed down slightly however I’m still happy with how much I read this month. I also didn’t watch many Bollywood movies this month as well which is shocking but you know I was busy doing other stuff.

Books I Read:

Am I Normal YetThe first book I read this month was Am I Normal Yet? by Holly Bourne. I completely and utterly fell in love with this book. I had never read any of Holly Bourne’s books before but now I want to read them all because this book was perfect. It dealt amazingly well with feminism and mental health. I cannot recommend this book enough. Everyone should read this book, in particular any teenage girls who suffer from mental health. This book will give everyone a new look on life. I gave it 5 out of 5 stars obviously and I wrote a whole review so click here to go see that.

Next I read a comic which was The Flash: Volume 1 of the New 52, Move Forward by Brian Buccellato FLSMF_DJ.inddand Francis Manapul. I haven’t read many comics however I’m a massive fangirl for the Flash TV show and Arrow so I thought why not read some Flash comics? I quite enjoyed this volume. It was a little bit confusing at times because there were many villains in this one volume and it was a little bit all over the place but other than that, I loved that. I loved getting to know Patty Spivot since she is coming into the next series of the The Flash. I gave it 4 out of 5 stars.

darkmereThe next book I read was Darkmere by Helen Maslin which is a YA thriller. I never read thrillers but I gave this one a chance and I really liked it. Helen manages to perfectly grip the reader with thrilling descriptions and gripping stories. I recommend this book for anyone who likes to read thriller and for those of you who don’t like to read thrillers, check it out anyway. You may be surprised with how much you like it. I did a whole review on this book so click here to go read that.

Next I read Beyond the Kingdoms by Chris Colfer which is the fourth book in the Land of Stories series. I am abeyond the kingdoms massive fan of this series and this book is possibly the best one so far. I loved following Alex and Connor as their journey continued and seeing them grow. I especially loved this one due to the inclusion of worlds from other children’s fantasy books such as Peter Pan and King Arthur. If you have not checked out this series yet, I suggest you go check it out now. I did a whole review on this book so click here to go read that.

sword of summerNext I was lucky enough to read a proof copy of The Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan which is the first book in his new series about Norse Mythology. I wrote a whole review for this book which will be going up in September but long story short, I absolutely loved this book. I know that this series is going to be huge and it’s going to be one of my favourite series of all time. It might even beat Percy Jackson in my opinion. I gave it 5 stars and look out for my review soon.

The next book I read was one that I had to read this summer for college in September and that wasa thousand splendid suns A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini. I put off reading this book for a while because I generally never like books that I have to read for school. However, I picked this up one day and I could not stop reading it. I finished it in less than 24 hours. I absolutely loved this book. It gripped me straight away and I cared so much for Mariam and Laila. Some of the language used was weird but due to my understand of Islam and my basic understanding of Hindi, I could understand most of the words used however some others may not be able to understand it. I really liked this book and I cannot wait to study it next year in school. I gave it 5 out of 5 stars.

IlluminaeNext I finished a book that I got sent for review in July and that is Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff. The size of this book scared me at first so I put off reading it however I finally picked it back up and I read almost all of it in one sitting. This book is set out in a variety of different ways and it makes it incredibly easy to read. This book was heart pounding, exhilirating and scary. I was on the edge of my bed, turning the pages quickly because Kaufman and Kristoff made me care so much for characters even though I was never inside of the characters. I did a whole review on the book and everyone should look out for it when it comes out in October.

Posts I Posted:

Books I Got:

IMG_0830

In September I am starting English A Level and therefore I needed to buy some books for it. I bought the same versions of the books that I had to get that I didn’t already own as they were £1.99 each and I’m a cheapskate. The books I needed to buy were Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte, The Plays of Oscar Wilde and Hamlet by William Shakespeare. I then bought this beautiful exclusive to WHSmith edition of Fangirl by Rainbow RowellIf you know me at all, then you would know that I love Fangirl. It is my favourite book of all time. Therefore when I saw this beautiful yellow edition, I had to buy it. Then the day after my results, I went out with my friends to celebrate getting good results so I decided to buy some books. My sister had given me a £10 Waterstones gift card so I spent that and I got two books that were on Buy One Get One Half Price. The books that I bought were Fire Colour One by Jenny Valentine and Me and Earl and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews. Then  I went to an event with Andrew Smith and Michael Grant but I didn’t own any of Andrew Smith’s books so I purchased Grasshopper Jungle by Andrew Smith. I also decided to buy the Waterstones exclusive edition of The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness as I am meeting Patrick Ness in September so I thought I’d buy it so I could read it before meeting him.

IMG_0842

I then was incredibly lucky and I received a proof copy of The Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan through the post. This book was near the top of my anticipated list for the year and  I’m so happy that I was able to receive a copy, two months before its release date.Next I got sent a book for review and that was Hello, Goodbye and Everything in Between by Jennifer E Smith. I got this from Headline for review. I’ve read all of Jennifer E Smith’s books so I was very happy to receive this one for review. My friend Michelle from the blog Tales of Yesterday then gave me her proof copy of In Darkling Wood by Emma Carroll as she was giving it away so I said that I would take it. This month, I was also lucky enough to be selected as one of the Rainbow Rowell UK Fangirls by My Kinda Book for their campaign that they are running for Fangirl and Carry On before the release of Carry On in October. For this campaign, they were kind enough to send me the new UK paperback of Fangirl which is the same as the previous one but it has an exclusive sneak peak of Carry On in it. The copy they sent me was signed and personalised to me by Rainbow Rowell which makes me incredibly happy as I love Rainbow Rowell and I now have three out of my four copies of Fangirl signed and personalised to me. I also got sent a proof copy of All The Rage by Courtney Summers from Pan Macmillan this month which I am very excited about. This book is already out in the US but it comes out in January here in the UK.

Watching/Listening To:

i hate luv storys, bollywood sucks rub outThe first Bollywood film that I watched this month was I Hate Luv Storys(the grammar kills me every time I write out that title) which is a Bollywood film about a love story between a guy who hates love stories and a girl who loves them. It was a very simple plot and obviously incredibly predictable however I still quite enjoyed the film. It was incredibly funny and it had references to a lot of very well known Bollywood love stories which I really liked. Imran Khan is an actor that I quite like yet I’ve never seen a Sonam Kapoor film before however I think she was quite good. It’s a very character driven film which was good in some places but in other places it fell flat.

I then watched another Bollywood movie(on the same day because I was feeling lazy) and that was 2 States which is2 states about a Punjabi boy and a Gujrati girl falling in love and having to get their parents to agree to the marriage. I quite enjoyed the film. The love story at the start fell a little bit flat but when it got to the part about convincing the parents, it became a very good film. The acting was great. Alia Bhatt is an actress that I have really come to admire and despite never having watched an Arjun Kapoor film, I think he was a great actor.

heyy babyyThe next film I watched was Heyy Babyy which is another Bollywood movie which is based on the english film, Three Men and a Baby. I watched this film a lot whilst I was growing up and whilst I was watching it again, I remembered so much of it. I love it because it’s just a nice funny family movie. The second half of the movie isn’t as good as the first half and the romance is a bit annoying but other than that I loved it.

I then watched a Bollywood movie that I loved as a child but I hadn’t seen it in ages and that is Main Hoon Na(I’mgori gori Here Now) which is about an army officer who is given the task of protecting the general’s daughter but he’s also on his own personal mission to find his half-brother that he never knew about. I really like this film because it’s funny and entertaining. It’s probably not one of my ultimate favourites but I still really enjoyed it. The songs in this film are absolutely brilliant as well as the acting as it has Shah Rukh Khan in it.

daawat-e-ishqAfter that I watched a film called Daawat-e-Ishq(The Feast of Love) which is about a girl who says that she won’t ever get married but then she falls in love with a chef. It was a fun and enjoyable film that made me laugh and whilst it wasn’t absolutely amazing, I quite enjoyed it. I really like Parineeti Chopra as an actress and I think Aditya Roy Kapur does a good job in it as well.

I then watched another film called Wake Up Sid which is about a spoilt rich kid wake up sidwho learns how to live alone without the help of his parents. It was a really good uplifting movie that taught me a lot about life. This was the first film that Ayan Mukherjee directed and whilst I preferred his second film, Yeh Jawaani Hai Deewani, I still loved this film and I think it’s a great film that a lot of people will like.

dil dhadakne doI then finally got to watching Dil Dhadakne Do(Let the Heart Beat) which is a film that I have wanted to watch ever since it came out in June. It is about a high class family that act like a very happy family but they are very dysfunctional and they have a lot of issues. I really loved this film for a lot of reasons. The songs, the actors, the story, the direction, the characters, all of it was amazing. The message of the film was great and it was a lot of fun. I really loved it and I highly recommend it.

could I be wearing any more clothesI spent quite a lot of this month re-watching Friends. I was mildly freaking out before getting my results and Friends is the show that I always go to when I need calming down as it is hilarious and uplifting. Obviously, I loved re-watching it. I re-watched it out of order and watched my favourite episodes and that was a lot of fun. If you’ve never seen friends, what are you doing with your life? You’re missing out.

Events I Attended:

On the 26th of August, I went to Waterstones Birmingham to meet Andrew Smith and Michael Grant. I haven’t read either of their books but I owned the first two Gone books and I bought Grasshopper Jungle by Andrew Smith before the event so that I could get it signed. They were both amazingly hilarious and entertaining. Their stories were inspiring and I especially liked their friendship. I am now excited to read both of their books.

Popsugar 2015 Reading Challenge:

A book that I was supposed to read in school A book that I have to read for school. I decided to change the tense for this one as I have read all of the books that I ever had to read for school. However for college in September, I had to read A Thousand Splendid Suns and I did so I’m counting that.

Next Month’s TBR Jar Pick:

This is a new category that I’ve added to my wrap up. I realised that there are quite a few books on my TBR shelf that I have no desire to pick up straight away but I really want to read them so I decided to write them all out on strips of paper and put them into a tub. Every month, I am going to pick one out of my jar that I have to read that month. The one that I picked out of the jar for September is:

Lorali by Laura Dockrill

I have to read this book in September and if I don’t, well you can all shame me!

Favourites of the Month:

Favourite Book:

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff but all of the others come in a very close second!

Favourite TV show:

Friends

Favourite Song:

Balam Pichkari – Yeh Jawaani Hai Deewani(I love this whole soundtrack but Balam Pichkari is definitely my favourite out of all of the brilliant songs)

Favourite Movie:

Dil Dhadakne Do

Favourite GIF:

miss chaanandler bong

 

Favourite Thing That Happened:

I got good GCSE results! I managed to get 1 A*, 9 As and 1 B which I am extremely proud of!

So that was my August. What did you guys get up to? Your favourite book of the month?

3 thoughts on “August Wrap Up

  1. Congratulations on your results, that’s so fantastic! 😊
    And it looks like you have a great month, in terms of reading, watching and everything else. I love Friends! It’s such a great show to wind down to!
    xoxo 💋

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

