Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

everything,everythingGenre: YA Contemporary
Pages: 320
Publisher: Penguin Random House
Format: E-book
Source: Netgalley
Rating: 3 stars
Buy the Book: Waterstones, Amazon, The Book Depository
Goodreads
Blurb:

Madeline Whittier is allergic to the outside world. So allergic, in fact, that she has never left the house in all of her seventeen years. But when Olly moves in next door, and wants to talk to Maddie, tiny holes start to appear in the protective bubble her mother has built around her. Olly writes his IM address on a piece of paper, shows it at her window, and suddenly, a door opens. But does Maddie dare to step outside her comfort zone?

Everything, Everything is about the thrill and heartbreak that happens when we break out of our shell to do crazy, sometimes death-defying things for love.


Review:

I received for this book in exchange for an honest review. This did not affect my opinion of the book.

There has been a lot of hype for this book. Everyone seems to be reading and loving it. Months in advance, a ton of gushing reviews came in and it immediately caught my attention. Slightly because of the cover but also because of the summary. Therefore I had a lot of high hopes for this book and whilst it didn’t quite live up to my expectations, it was still pretty darn good.

The main reason I loved this book was because of Madeline. I loved reading from her point of view because it all seemed so exciting. Her view of the outside world really changed how I saw things. Little things that we are used to seemed to be a big deal for her and I loved that aspect of it. I loved her relationship with Olly because while it felt slightly rushed at the start, it grew into something really beautiful. Their relationship was great and I loved how he wasn’t just helping her and she was helping him too. I also loved the family aspect of this book. I loved seeing both Olly’s family and Maddy’s family and seeing how different they were.

This book is incredibly easy to read. Nicola Yoon’s writing is amazing and it makes you want to keep reading. I will definitely pick up any future books by her because her writing blew me away. My kindle copy has so many highlighted pieces of text that I just loved. It also has short chapters which meant that I devoured this book in one sitting.

My main issue with this book is definitely the situation at the end. It just seemed too predictable/unrealistic. I won’t spoil it for you but it just didn’t sit right with me. However I do still recommend this book. This book is definitely going to be a big release so you should obviously pick it up.

On further reflection, I did not like this book as much as I initially thought I did because the way that it ended just ruined it all for me. The first half was on its way to becoming a great 4/5 star novel but the ending just frustrated me so much that I lowered my rating.

 

7 thoughts on “Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

  1. I also guessed the ending, but I found that I didn’t mind that as much as I normally would. The way Yoon handled it was well done, I thought, so I didn’t mind the predictable plot because the characters and writing were so good.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I think it’s a valid point, though. There’s a thin line that divides “too predictable” and “just predictable enough to be enjoyable”, and this book definitely crosses that line for some people.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

