Darkmere by Helen Maslin

darkmereGenre: YA thriller
Pages: 368
Publisher: Chicken House
Format: Proof copy
Source: Chicken House
Rating: 4 stars
Buy the Book: Waterstones, Amazon, The Book Depository
Goodreads
Blurb:

A castle. A curse. A dangerous summer. Leo has invited Kate and a few friends to spend the summer at his inheritance, Darkmere Castle: as wild and remote as it is beautiful. Kate thinks it will be the perfect place for her and Leo to get together – but instead, she’s drawn into the dark story of a young nineteenth-century bride who haunts the tunnels and towers of the house. And whose curse now hangs over them all.


Review:

I received this book in exchange for an honest review and this did not affect my opinion at all.

Honestly, I would never have picked up this book on my own if I had not heard everyone raving about it on Twitter and if I hadn’t befriended Helen via Twitter. I don’t do horror or thriller or anything of that sort. However, I really enjoyed this book.

The reason I loved this book was because it was incredibly gripping. Elinor’s story in particular intrigued me because I had no idea where it was going to go. Whilst we knew the outcome of her story, I was completely invested in how that ending came to be and whenever it was one of her chapters, I could not put it down. For the most part, Kate’s part didn’t grip me as much until the last quarter or so of the book when it started to get really interesting. I loved how perfectly both stories intertwined, despite the fact that Kate’s story was set over only one summer and Elinor’s was set over a few years.

With Elinor’s story, I was incredibly conflicted throughout the whole thing with my feelings! At first, I loved St Cloud but then I strongly disliked him. The same thing happened with Anna. The only characters in her story that I liked the whole time through were Nick and Elinor herself.

Within Kate’s story, I didn’t really love any of the characters. No matter how hard I tried, I could not like Leo at all and whilst I liked Jackson, Dan and Beano I couldn’t bring myself to love them. Lucie was irritating and so was Kate at times. However, this somehow made me enjoy the book more, if that makes sense. It doesn’t make sense to me but not liking the characters meant that I liked the book more.

Helen’s writing is amazing. I love how perfectly she describes everything, especially Darkmere. Her descriptions made the castle look like a perfect blend of chilling and beautiful. I will definitely be picking up more of Helen’s work because I just love her writing.

I feel like this is the perfect book for anyone who reads horror or thriller as even I could get into it and really enjoy it, despite never reading thriller. The stories intertwine perfectly, the characters entertain amazingly and the descriptions grip you in straight away. This is a book for everyone to go and pick up.

3 thoughts on “Darkmere by Helen Maslin

Leave a Reply

