Ten Fairytale Retellings I Want To Read

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

I don’t read many fairy tale retellings. Honestly when I saw this topic, the only one that I thought of was A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas. Thus here I am, making a list of fairytale retellings that I want to read. This was an incredibly difficult list to compile since I realised that I don’t actually want to read many fairytale retellings. It isn’t really a genre I reach for but I did come up with 10. These are in no particular order.

ella enchantedThe first one that I thought of was Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine. Whilst I was growing up, I absolutely loved this film. I would watch it all the time. I have since been told that the film is nothing like the book and that the book is way better thus I really want to read the book.

Next I have a book that I have talked about a lot and that is Cinder by Marissa Meyer. I think Cindereveryone knows the story of me and this book so I won’t go into it again.

The next book is one that I have heard quite a few people talk about and that is Sisters Red by Jackson Pearce. sisters redMany people have talked positively about this book so I would like to see what all the fuss is about.

The next one is one that I’m not sure if I want to read and that is Crimson Bound by crimson boundRosamund Hodge. I read the first book by this author last year and I didn’t really like it. However, I would like to give her another chance but I’m not too sure yet.

Another one that I’m a bit hesitant to read is Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige. I have heard dorothy must dievery mixed things about this book series thus I’m not too sure how much I want to read this series. However I would like to read it and make my own decision on it but the negative things about it may affect my reading experience.

Next I have The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh. This book in particular has been gettingwrath and the dawn a lot of hype recently and everyone has been loving it. It honestly sounds like an amazing book that I will love so I would like to get a copy asap.

The next book is one that I didn’t know classed as a fairytale retelling but according to goodreads it does and that between the linesbook is Between the Lines by Jodi Picoult and Samantha Van Leer. The companion novel to this book came out recently so this series has been getting a lot of buzz and it honestly sounds like the type of series that I would love.

Next I again have a book that I am not too sure if I want to read and that is Beastly by Alex Flinn. I beastlywatched the movie version of this book ages ago and I didn’t like it but I also didn’t hate it and the book is usually always better than the movie right?

isle of the lostNext I have The Isle of the Lost by Melissa De La Cruz. This sounds like a great book but what put me off is that it is a prequel to a Disney Channel original movie which means it is probably aimed at a younger audience thus I am not too sure how much I will enjoy it.

alice in zombielandLastly I have another book that I’m not sure if I want to read and that is Alice in Zombieland by Gena Showalter. I read Alice in Wonderland in March and suprisingly, I didn’t really like it. So whilst I want to read this book, I am not too sure how much I would enjoy it.

There is my list. I’m not too sure if I will read most of them but hey who cares. What fairytale retelling is your favourite? Recommend me some great retellings!

 

3 thoughts on “Ten Fairytale Retellings I Want To Read

  1. I love this theme, getting so many great recs! I’m reading “Cinder” right now, and “The Wrath and the Dawn” is on my TBR list for this month. Gonna have to check out a lot of the other ones as well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

