Am I Normal Yet? by Holly Bourne

Am I Normal YetGenre: YA Contemporary
Pages: 434
Publisher: Usborne
Format: Paperback
Source: Bought
Rating: 5 stars
Buy the Book: Waterstones, Amazon, The Book Depository
Goodreads
Blurb:

All Evie wants is to be normal. She’s almost off her meds and at a new college where no one knows her as the girl-who-went-crazy. She’s even going to parties and making friends. There’s only one thing left to tick off her list…

But relationships are messy – especially relationships with teenage guys. They can make any girl feel like they’re going mad. And if Evie can’t even tell her new friends Amber and Lottie the truth about herself, how will she cope when she falls in love?


Review:

As someone who has recently got into reading UKYA books, Holly Bourne is an author who I have heard so much about yet until now, I had never picked up any of her books. When I saw Am I Normal Yet? in Foyles, I immediately picked it up and I started reading it on the tube. As soon as I came back from London, I picked it back up again and read the rest of it in one afternoon.

Evie suffers from OCD but at the start of the book, she is getting better therefore as she is starting college, she decides she wants to be a normal teenager which includes getting a proper friendship group and a boyfriend. The book basically follows her journey as she goes through this process of becoming ‘normal’ and I completely loved it. I loved Evie as a character because she accurately protrayed what it would be like to have OCD. I do not have OCD or anxiety but I felt like I could completely understand her thought processes which made it a brilliant book. The way that mental health is dealt with in this book is completely unique and I learned a lot from it. I’ve never actually read into mental health before but it was clear that Holly Bourne had and that helped to teach me.

Another thing that Holly Bourne taught me about was feminism. Whilst I do consider myself to be a feminist, I’m a very lazy feminist. I don’t do much about it or speak out a lot but this book has sparked the inner feminist within me simply because it pointed out so many things about feminism that I didn’t know about. The whole part about benevolent sexism and mental health with women completely shocked me because it was something that I had never thought about before. It was obvious that Holly Bourne is a very strong feminist and has also done her research on feminism.

I also loved the way that the book dealt with the topic of being a normal teenager. According to most people I am not a normal teenager. I have no desire to drink, do drugs, go to parties or have a boyfriend. It used to irritate me when people used to say I was weird for not wanting any of that but now after reading this book, I’m happy with the fact that I’m not a ‘normal’ teenager. Because there is no normal.

Holly Bourne taught me a lot throughout this book. Not just about various topics but also about writing. I loved the style with which she wrote because it’s so different to anything I’ve ever read before. I will definitely be picking up Holly Bourne’s other works because Am I Normal Yet? was just absolutely amazing. I feel like Am I Normal Yet? is a book that everyone should read. Especially women. And teenagers. And people suffering from OCD and anxiety. And feminists. And EVERYONE IN THE WORLD.

 

3 thoughts on “Am I Normal Yet? by Holly Bourne

Leave a Reply

