Ten Characters Who Are Fellow Book Nerds

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

I love to read about characters who love to read. Simply because the way that the author describes why they love to read relates so much to how I feel. However, it is not something that is generally advertised about the character and it is something that you learn as you go on with the book. I love learning about a character who loves to read because it is just an exciting feeling to find someone who likes to read too(even if they are fictional).

clockwork princessThe first book nerd I picked is Tessa Gray from the Infernal Devices trilogy by Cassandra Clare. Tessa loves to read and she mentions this a lot throughout the whole trilogy and she makes a lot of bookish references. She talks about reading a lot and her thoughts really reminded me of how I felt about reading.

 “You know that feeling,” she said, “when you are reading a book, and you know that it is going to be a tragedy; you can feel the cold and darkness coming, see the net drawing tight around the characters who live and breathe on the pages. But you are tied to the story as if being dragged behind a carriage and you cannot let go or turn the course aside.”

Next I have William Herondale who is also from the Infernal Devices trilogy by Cassandra Clare. Will andclockwork Angel Tessa bond because of their shared love for books and reading. Will reads because he is alone and he wants to keep everyone away and this love for reading that he has just makes me love him even more(even though I’m more of a Jem kind of girl).

“It was books that made me feel that perhaps I was not completely alone. They could be honest with me, and I with them.”

fangirlNext I have Cather Avery from my favourite book of all time, Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell. Cath loves to read, especially the Simon Snow series and Simon and Baz fanfiction. She also loves to write(mainly fanfiction but that is still writing!). I love Cath because she is so similar to me. Her love for reading is related to my love for reading and she has similar thoughts to me. When I was reading this book, I was convinced that Rainbow Rowell had gone into my brain and picked out the thoughts that I always have had but that I’ve never told anyone.

“Sometimes writing is running downhill, your fingers jerking behind you on the keyboard the way your legs do when they can’t quite keep up with gravity.”

I also have Celaena Sardothien from the Throne of Glass series by Sarah J Maas. Celaena loves to read throne of glasswhich is something that shocked me since she is a badass kickass assassin. However she loves to read which made me love her even more which I didn’t even know was possible.

“Libraries were full of ideas–perhaps the most dangerous and powerful of all weapons.”

comFollowing on from that, next I have Dorian Havilliard from the Throne of Glass series who also loves to read which is what bought him and Celaena closer. I love it in books when the two characters get closer through their love for books. Dorian and Celaena forever.

I then have Violet Markey from All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven. Violet loves to write atbpand this is one of the key points about her that comes across in this novel. I loved her love for reading.

islaI then have Isla from Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins. Isla loves to read adventure stories and I loved that about her thus making her my favourite of the Stephanie Perkins’ ladies.

Next I have two characters and they are Eleanor and Park from Eleanor and Park by Rainbow eandpRowell. Eleanor and Park both start talking to each other through the fact that Park reads comics on the bus and Eleanor starts to read alongside him. I love the fact that they fall in love by sharing their reading experience and it’s also different with them since it is comic books instead of novels.

struck by lightningNext I have a character that I hardly talk about that and that is Carson Phillips from Struck by Lightning by Chris Colfer. I love this book and the movie and whilst we never learn if Carson loves to read, he loves to write articles so I’m using him as the hint says you can include characters who are writers. I love Carson’s complete desire to make his dream come true because he is so determined for it to work.

“Whoa, I’ve really got to stop making plans with fictional characters. It can’t be healthy to develop relationships with people who don’t exist.”

Last but not least I have Hermione Granger from the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling. How could I havePS missed out the biggest book nerd of them all?

 

Do you agree with my choices? Let me know down in the comments.

3 thoughts on “Ten Characters Who Are Fellow Book Nerds

Leave a Reply

