Ten Books That Celebrate Diversity/Diverse Characters

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

I love reading about diverse characters however I must admit, I don’t read enough books that celebrate diversity. Unlike most people, I don’t really go looking for them but when I do read a book with a diverse set of characters in it, I get extremely happy. This list was so hard to compile because I just could not for the life of me remember any books that I had read with diverse characters.

TATBILBThe first book that sprung to mind was To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han. This book follows Lara Jean Song who is half Korean. I loved reading from Lara Jean’s perspective! I learnt a lot more about the Korean culture from fashion to food, it was all included! I loved the fact that Jenny Han wrote about a Korean family because it just bought something new to the table as they were celebrating events and doing traditions that I had never before seen. I wrote a whole review of the second book in this series so click here to go read my review.

The next book I thought of was Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell. Eleanor is described as being chubby eandpand Park is Korean so Rainbow Rowell decided to stray away from the norm with this book, which I loved. This was the first Rainbow Rowell book that I ever read and I fell in love with it. The best thing about Rainbow Rowell’s writing is that her characters are always really realistic and Eleanor and Park was no exception.

This is Not a Love StoryThe next book is This Is Not A Love Story by Keren David. This book explores LGBT which I really loved reading about. I had no idea before reading this book that it had LGBT characters in it so it was a complete shock which I loved. Most of the other LGBT books that I have read, the whole plotline has been based on LGBT and I have come to find this to be really boring so I was incredibly happy to read a book that strayed away from this and had another storyline as well. I wrote a whole review of this book so click here to go read my review.

A Brighter FearNext I have, A Brighter Fear by Kerry Drewery. This book is set in Iraq and the main character is a Christian living in Iraq. I had never read a book set in Iraq before so it was really interesting to read about, especially since it is set during the Iraq war. I wrote a whole review of this book so click here to go read my review.

lost heroThe next one that came to mind was The Heroes of Olympus Series by Rick Riordan. I didn’t realise how this was diverse until I thought about the fact that we have an LGBT character as well as the fact that one of the main 7 characters is Chinese, another is Spanish and another is African American. Well done Rick Riordan for including a diverse set of characters. I especially love the LGBT aspect of the series since it is related to one of my favourite characters in the series.

I then have Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins. I chose this because Lola has two gay dads, LATBNDwhich is something I have hardly come across in YA. I loved seeing their relationship and reading about how people see Lola differently as she has two gay dads. I think it was dealt with really well in this novel because it wasn’t the whole storyline which made me very happy.

boys don't crThe 7th book I have on this list is Boys Don’t Cry by Malorie Blackman. I read this when it first came out and it never really hit me that it had diversity in it until recently. The main family in this book are black and one of the characters is gay. My favourite part of this novel was the whole storyline with the gay character yet it never hit me that it was diversity. I completely and utterly love this novel, even more now that I know it celebrates diversity.

Next I have the Legend Trilogy by Marie Lu. I’m not too sure about this one but I think June legenddescribes Day as being Mongolian. It doesn’t play a key aspect in the novel and that’s what I love about it. The fact that the character is diverse shouldn’t always affect the events in the book, especially in a dystopian book so Marie Lu does this perfectly.

unspeakableI then have Unspeakable by Abbie Rushton. This book is all about exploring your sexuality so it has strong LGBT themes. Whilst I did not love this book, I do still appreciate the fact that it was about two girls as I have come across many books about two boys but not many about two girls. I wrote a whole review of this book so click here to go read my review.

Lastly I have The Art of Being Normal by Lisa Williamson. This book is all about LGBT and it isTAOBN highly loved in the UKYA community. I did really appreciate the book and its themes but as you may have already gathered, I don’t really like books that just focus on the LGBT themes and have no other plot line so I didn’t really love this book.

So those are my 10 books that celebrate diversity. Have you read any? What is your favourite book with a diverse character? Let me know down in the comments.

 

One thought on “Ten Books That Celebrate Diversity/Diverse Characters

Leave a Reply

