The Next Together by Lauren James

Next TogetherGenre: YA Romance/Historical Fiction/Time Travel/Dystopian
Pages: 356
Publisher: Walker
Format: Paperback proof
Source: Michelle
Rating: 5 stars
Buy the Book: Waterstones, Amazon, The Book Depository
Goodreads
Blurb:

How many times can you lose the person you love?

Katherine and Matthew are destined to be born again and again, century after century. Each time, their presence changes history for the better, and each time, they fall hopelessly in love, only to be tragically separated.

Spanning the Crimean War, the Siege of Carlisle and the near-future of 2019 and 2039 they find themselves sacrificing their lives to save the world. But why do they keep coming back? What else must they achieve before they can be left to live and love in peace?

Maybe the next together will be different…

A powerful and epic debut novel for teenagers about time-travel, fate and the timelessness of first love. The Next Together is told through a mixture of regular prose, diary entries, letters, “original” historical documents, news reports and internet articles.


Review:

I have been dying to read this book ever since I first heard about it months ago so when Michelle lent me her copy to read, I got incredibly excited and I started reading it straight away. I absolutely loved this book for many reasons but mainly because it was everything I could want in a book. It was set in the past and the future. It had historical events, the future, corrupt political situations, war, adorable and cute romantic scenes.

I was a little bit concerned when I start reading the book and I saw that it jumped from the different times and characters because in the past when books have jumped from two different times, I haven’t really enjoyed them. However, this book does it amazingly well. Leaving a cliffhanger at the end of each section can cause issues because then the reader might want to skip ahead to the next part of that time period however Lauren James manages to do this perfectly. Each part of the story was gripping and I wanted to read all of them at once. It was like reading multiple books at one time and I loved that.

Katherine and Matthew were amazing lead characters. I loved how different they were in each time period but also how similar they were. I honestly could not pick my favourite Katherine and Matthew because I loved them all so dearly and I didn’t want any of them to get hurt. They really are the leaders of this book and without these two main characters, it would really fall apart. However, the story isn’t completely character-driven. I wanted to know what was going to happen in Carlisle and Crimea and Nottingham. The plot lines of each story were intriguing and I really don’t know how Lauren James did it. Somehow, she’s created a story filled with stories and done it perfectly.

Talking about Lauren James, her writing style is just amazing. There were so many amazing quotes in this book that I would share with you but as I have a proof copy, I’m not allowed to do that. However just know that her book is absolutely amazing. The book is filled with letters, diary extracts, newspapers articles, notes and maps!

You should definitely all be excited for this book. I completely fell in love with it and I am definitely going to buy a finished copy when it comes out in September. You should all pre order this book. Now.

 

5 thoughts on “The Next Together by Lauren James

Leave a Reply

