Air by Lisa Glass

AirGenre: YA Contemporary
Pages: 340
Publisher: Quercus
Format: Paperback
Source: Lisa Glass
Rating: 4 stars
Buy the book: Waterstones, Amazon, The Book Depository
Goodreads
Blurb:

Being in a relationship with one of the hottest and most talented male surfers on the circuit is a dream come true… right?

Iris and Zeke get to travel to the most beautiful beaches in the world, competing in major surf competitions. Life should be perfect, but when Zeke is suspended from a surf tour in Hawaii, it’s clear there is some deep trouble in paradise. And then there’s Zeke’s romantic past: at every turn Iris is confronted by his old flames and his hordes of female fans.

Returning to Newquay, Iris finds that at home things have also changed. Her friends have moved on with their lives, and they sense Iris is keeping something – something bad – from them.

What really happened in Hawaii? Why was Zeke kicked off the circuit? And what secret is tearing Iris and Zeke’s relationship apart?

THIS REVIEW MAY CONTAIN MILD SPOILERS FOR BLUE, THE FIRST BOOK IN THIS SERIES.


Review:

After reading Blue in February, I knew that I would have to pick up the sequel when it came out in June. Thanks to Lisa Glass, I was able to get my hands on a copy almost as soon as it came out and as soon as it came I started reading it and I really did quite enjoy it.

Iris in this book is maturing(she’s still not really mature but still) and I found that extremely relatable. Being roughly the same age as Iris, I felt like I could completely understand her reactions to everything despite hating her for how she reacted. Zeke however annoyed the hell out of me in this novel. I really did not like him. I don’t remember if I liked him in the first one but in this one he just got super annoying. Obviously, there was this whole sense of mystery throughout about why he was the way he was but even when we did find out, it just didn’t seem to be the whole story. However, the characters were realistic. They both mirrored what an ordinary person would be like in their situations in a way which I quite enjoyed.

This book has a lot less surfing in it but I was slightly glad about that. We could see what their lives were like when you took the surfing out of it which was really interesting to read about. The book read like a contemporary and I’m really happy that this book exists because it just shows how relationships aren’t just perfect when the book ends. I’m really excited to find out what happens in the next book especially after that ending. A lot of people will be irritated with the ending but I personally loved it because it is what needed to happen.

As with Blue, Lisa Glass’ writing was spot on. She has this great writing style that hooks you and makes you want to keep reading despite the fact that not much may be happening in it. I really enjoyed Air, even more than Blue so I am incredibly excited for Ride.

3 thoughts on “Air by Lisa Glass

Leave a Reply

