The Baby by Lisa Drakeford

the babyGenre: YA Contemporary
Pages: 230
Publisher: Chicken House
Format: Paperback
Source: Chicken House
Rating: 3 stars
Buy the book: Waterstones, Amazon, The Book Depository
Goodreads
Blurb:
When Olivia opens the bathroom door, the last thing she expects to see is her best friend Nicola giving birth on the floor – and to say Nicola is surprised is an understatement. She’s not ready to be a mum, and she needs Olivia’s help. But Olivia has her own problems – specifically her bullying boyfriend, Jonty, and keeping an eye on younger sister Alice. And then there’s Nicola’s friend Ben, who’s struggling with secrets of his own


Review:
I received this book in exchange for an honest review and this did not affect my opinion. This review was written in May when I first read the book.

This is probably going to be one of the shortest reviews I’ve ever written.

I was incredibly excited to read this book because I love babies and after reading Trouble, I’ve been wanting to read more books about teenage pregnancy. I was unfortunately disappointed with this book.

I think we had a unique range of characters across all 5 of them and I did enjoy reading from all 5 perspectives. However, it just didn’t work because the book wasn’t long enough. We didn’t spend enough time with each character so I felt like I couldn’t connect well enough with them. This book follows all 5 characters over a 5 month span and this is one of the major issues I had. As it jumped a whole month between chapters, it didn’t flow right for me. I liked Alice and Ben but that was about it.  This book also deals with teenage pregnancy as well as domestic violence but I don’t think any of these topics were dealt with well. The writing was choppy so the whole book didn’t flow in my opinion. This was a fast paced novel and I finished it within a day but I just couldn’t get into it.

I don’t really have much to say about this book because I don’t want to put you off this book. Most people have loved this book so I think this book just wasn’t for me. I would recommend you read it so that you can form your own opinion on it.

 

 

2 thoughts on “The Baby by Lisa Drakeford

Leave a Reply

