From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs Basil E.Frankweiler by E.L. Konigsburg

FTMUFOMBEFGenre: Children’s Fiction
Pages: 192
Publisher: Pushkin Children’s Books
Source: Pushkin Children’s Books
Format: Paperback
Rating: 4 stars
Buy the book: Waterstones, Amazon, The Book Depository
Goodreads
Blurb:
Dark black sketches by author add to this file, starting with a letter from Mrs. Frankweiler 82, to her lawyer Saxonburg. Claudia 11, bored by suburbia luxury and responsibility, runs away with wealthier brother Jamie 9, to the NY Metropolitan Museum of Art (map included). The collector sold the museum a small statue, the Angel. By Michelangelo or not? Claudia must know


Review:
 

I received this book in exchange for an honest review and this did not affect my review.

I really enjoyed this book. When I was offered it to review, I had never heard of it before despite it being a well known classic for children. I wasn’t sure about whether or not I would like it but I decided to give it a try and I’m so glad I did. This is one of those books that I really wish I would have read when I was younger because I would have just loved it then.

Reading the synopsis of this book, I was sure that I was going to hate Claudia who ran away simply because she was tired of being the goody two shoes but I loved her. I related so much to her simply because she had this desire to be different from everyone else and that is something I have. I completely understood her need to come home different and this made the book even better. I loved seeing her try hard to achieve her goal.

The best thing about this book was definitely the relationship between Claudia and her brother Jamie. I loved seeing how close they were and I loved the fact that they were both caring for the other in some way. Jamie himself was a great character as well and he perfectly contrasted Claudia in terms of personality which made it all the more enjoyable.

The story is narrated by Mrs Basil E.Frankweiler which again just made it even better because she was such a fun and witty narrator. I didn’t know how the stories connected until the end and I loved that little bit of mystery. I also loved learning more about the museum and Michelangelo as it is something that I’ve never really taken an interest in before so it was quite fun to find out more about it.

Overall, I strongly recommend this book. It’s a great book with amazing morals and I highly recommend it, especially for younger children.

2 thoughts on “From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs Basil E.Frankweiler by E.L. Konigsburg

Leave a Reply

