PS I Still Love You by Jenny Han

PS I Still Love YouGenre: YA Contemporary
Pages: 337
Publisher: Scholastic
Format: Paperback
Source: Bought
Rating: 5 stars
Buy the book: Waterstones, Amazon, The Book Depository
Goodreads
Blurb:
Lara Jean didn’t expect to really fall for Peter.
She and Peter were just pretending. Except suddenly they weren’t. Now Lara Jean is more confused than ever.
When another boy from her past returns to her life, Lara Jean’s feelings for him return too. Can a girl be in love with two boys at once?

Review:

This book was one of my most anticipated books of the year as I read the first book in this duology last year and fell completely in love with it. So when I saw this book in Waterstones yesterday before its release date, I knew that I had to buy it there and then despite the fact that I wasn’t meant to be buying any books. I started reading this book 3 hours ago and I read it straight through in one sitting and now here I am writing the review just after I’ve finished it.This book picks up just after To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before and despite the fact that it has been a year since I last read it, I was able to quickly remember what happened.

The main thing I loved about the previous novel was the characters. The first book has a large focus on family which I absolutely loved because in most YA novels, the protagonist doesn’t have a good relationship with their family. This book did not take away from the family aspect but it was less prominent as it was in the first one. This novel focused quite well on Lara Jean’s relationship with her little sister Kitty which was probably my favourite part of the whole novel. I loved seeing that great family dynamic that they had between them because it was just so unique. I also love Lara Jean as a character. She is one of my favourite protagonists to read about simply because she is so fun and entertaining.

I must address the romance in this novel since it is a romance novel. In the first novel, I did not like Peter. I don’t know why but I just didn’t. Weirdly when I started this book, I seemed to like him a little bit more but as the book went on, I liked him less. I just didn’t see the whole appeal of him because to me, it didn’t seem like he was worth all of the heartbreak. I loved John in this novel which was interesting for me as a reader because I shipped the couple that nobody else did! I just thought their moments in this book were more cute and romantic and I like to hope that in the future, they do end up together(it is a very far fetched dream!)

Jenny Han’s writing is a bit hit and miss for me but in this book it was definitely a hit! I don’t know what it was about her writing but I did not want to put the book down! It was enticing yet it sounded like Lara Jean’s voice.

Overall, I loved this book. It was an amazing follow up that I could not put down. I loved the way it ended but I would love it if Jenny Han decided to write a third book…. I strongly recommend this series if you are into YA contemporary because it is incredibly good in my opinion.

3 thoughts on “PS I Still Love You by Jenny Han

Leave a Reply

