Top Ten Book to Movie Adaptations

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and Bookish.

This week was a freebie week so we could choose any topic so I thought I’d talk about book to movie adaptations because I hardly ever discuss this topic. This list is going to include movies where I have read the book but it doesn’t have to be perfectly the same but as long as I enjoyed the movie and the book then it’s on the list. It is also in no specific order.

The Hunger Games series:

A lot of people are a fan of this movie franchise but I personally did not like the first one that much. However, Catching Fire was absolutely amazing as was Mockingjay Part 1. I cannot wait for Part 2.

Harry Potter series:

This has to be on everyone’s top ten list right?

A Walk to Remember:

I love this book and movie. Yes it is by Nicholas Sparks and this is actually the only one of his books/movies that I like. The movie changed quite a lot but it made it better. It did a good job in accurately portraying the emotion and the actors were superb.

Struck by Lightning:

I’m not sure if this was a movie first or a book but they both came out the same time. I read the book first and really enjoyed it so I was a bit wary to watch the film but I loved it. The film was perfect for the book and the tone fit it well.

The Perks of Being A Wallflower:

I don’t know what it is about this movie but I love it. I read the book 2 years before watching the movie because  I kept putting off actually watching it. When I finally got around to it, I loved it completely.

The Maze Runner:

I loved The Maze Runner movie. In fact it was probably my favourite movie of last year. It was done perfectly from cinematography to acting. Everything about it was perfect.

If I Stay:

If I Stay was done amazingly well and the fact that it isn’t well known makes me sad. The movie was spot on and the accompanying soundtrack was also perfect.

Vampire Academy:

A lot of people hated this movie but I personally really enjoyed it. It perfectly captured the essence of the book and put it onto the screen. I will always really enjoy this movie because it is just a lot of fun to watch.

The Fault in Our Stars:

I’m not a massive TFIOS fan but the movie did do a very good job of adapting the book.

Love, Rosie:

I watched the movie before reading the book for this one and while they changed quite a lot, I loved both the film and the book because the changes made sense.

So those are my top ten book to movie adaptations. If I put movies on here where I haven’t read the books it would feature movies such as Lord of the Rings, The Hobbit and The Chronicles of Narnia. What is your top most book to movie adaptation? Let me know down in the comments.

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Book to Movie Adaptations

  1. Another person who loves the VA movie! A bunch if the hate I feel came from nonreaders. I am sad I won’t get to see Adrian on screen =( This was a really good pick for the Freebie!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

