This Is Not A Love Story by Keren David

This is Not a Love StoryGenre: YA Contemporary
Pages: 352
Publisher: Atom
Format: Paperback
Source: Atom Books
Rating: 5 stars
Buy the Book: Amazon, Waterstones,The Book Depository
Goodreads
Blurb:
Kitty dreams of a beautiful life, but that’s impossible in suburban London where her family is haunted by her father’s unexpected death. So when her mum suggests moving to Amsterdam to try a new life, Kitty doesn’t take much persuading. Will this be her opportunity to make her life picture perfect?

In Amsterdam she meets moody, unpredictable Ethan, and clever, troubled Theo. Two enigmatic boys, who each harbour their own secrets. In a beautiful city and far from home, Kitty finds herself falling in love for the first time.

But will love be everything she expected? And will anyone’s heart survive?


Review:

This review was written in April when I read the book. I received this book in exchange for an honest review and this did not affect my opinion.

This book was like a breath of fresh air. It was so completely different to anything I’ve ever read and I completely fell in love with it.

The first thing about this book that made me fall in love with it was the fact that it was set in Amsterdam. I have always been fascinated by Amsterdam so reading a whole book that was set there was amazing. Along the course of the novel, I learned a lot about the city and I felt like I was there in a way.

The next thing about this book that made me fall in love with it was the fact that the characters were all so raw and realistic. Kitty was obsessed with Instagram and getting likes on her pictures and this perfectly represented some girls that I know. Ethan and Theo were both unique and different to any character I’d ever experienced. After reading the blurb, I expected Theo to be a happy bubbly person that is really nice and Ethan to be the brooding bad boy that the main character falls for(as with most YA books) but it was not like this. At all. The characters all had their own story and I hated none of them for a change!

The story in this book was also incredibly unique and it really helped to set it apart. As did the writing! The writing was so wonderfully exquisite. This is the first Keren David book I have ever read but I shall definitely be picking up her other books soon. This book has so many tabs in it and I loved so many things about it!

Overall I really loved this book and I strongly recommend you all pick up a copy if you like realistic YA contemporary novels.

3 thoughts on “This Is Not A Love Story by Keren David

Leave a Reply

