A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

A Court of Thorns and RosesGenre: New Adult Fantasy
Pages: 432
Publisher: Bloomsbury
Source: Netgalley
Format: E-book
Rating: 5 stars
Buy the Book: Waterstones, Amazon, The Book Depository
Goodreads
Blurb:
Feyre’s survival rests upon her ability to hunt and kill – the forest where she lives is a cold, bleak place in the long winter months. So when she spots a deer in the forest being pursued by a wolf, she cannot resist fighting it for the flesh. But to do so, she must kill the predator and killing something so precious comes at a price.

Dragged to a magical kingdom for the murder of a faerie, Feyre discovers that her captor, his face obscured by a jewelled mask, is hiding far more than his piercing green eyes would suggest. Feyre’s presence at the court is closely guarded, and as she begins to learn why, her feelings for him turn from hostility to passion and the faerie lands become an even more dangerous place. Feyre must fight to break an ancient curse, or she will lose him forever.


Review:

This review was written in February when I first read this novel.

This book guys. You seriously all need to drop whatever it is you’re currently doing and go pick this book up now. I have been anticipating this book ever since it was first announced because Sarah J Maas has been one of my favourite authors ever since I first read Throne of Glass, over a year ago. As soon as I heard she was writing a new series, I jumped straight on that and adding it to my goodreads. It was then announced to be a Beauty and the Beast retelling and then I got even more excited due to the fact that Beauty and the Beast is my favourite Disney movie(tied with Mulan!). When I found out that I had been improved for this book on netgalley, I did a little squeal, dropped the book I was reading and immediately picked this one up because I simply could not wait any longer. Then I read. And read. And read. Then the next thing I know, it’s 5 hours later and I had finished the book. That’s how amazing it was. I read a whole book that is almost 500 pages in almost one sitting.

The word that Sarah J Maas has created is incredibly unique. The incorporation of the fae with the humans was different because both sides knew of each other’s existence. They lived somewhat peacefully side by side and co-exist which was quite different to other books. We spend the majority of the book in the fae world due to the storyline and we learn a lot about how the world is split and organised but it wasn’t like info dumping. While Feyre knows a little bit about how the fae world works, she doesn’t know a lot so we learn things along with her. Finding out about how it was organised was so intriguing because of how unique it was.

The characters in this book were just kickass. Maas has this way of creating characters that are so complex and that’s one of the main reasons why I love her books(aside from the beautiful world building). Feyre wasn’t quite as kick ass as Celaena but damn she was pretty damn kickass. She has been forced into poverty and at the start of the book she is in a pretty unique family situtation with her siblings.  Even after being whisked away she didn’t stop thinking about her family and how they were coping without her. She put other people before her and she was brave in a less obvious ways that some other heroines. Tamlin was just perfection.Due to him being the beast of the story, we are quite wary of him to begin with because he is very secretive and agressive but as the story progresses, he turns into another lovable characters. There’s a chance that he may have even made my top 10 fictional crushes list.

Therefore, the romance in this novel was just on fire! I loved all of their interactions and I was waiting for their next one. As this is a new adult book it does have more sexual content than books that I ordinarily read but it wasn’t overpowering. It wasn’t too ridiculously descriptive but it was more descriptive than YA books so beware if that kind of thing bothers you.

The side characters in this novel were also pretty damn badass. Especially Lucien. Ahhh Lucien. He was just so amazing and I loved him very dearly. I loved the development you see with some of the other characters such as Nesta.

As this is a Sarah J Maas book, I can’t not mention her beautiful writing. I don’t know how she does it but she writes beautiful sentences that are descriptive but not too descriptive that the pace becomes slower and the book gets boring. Her writing, her characters, her worlds and her plots will always astound me. If I have not yet convinced you to read this book, you must go read it now. I know I say this a lot but seriously go read this book now! This book deserves 500000000000000000 stars. I can’t wait for the sequel(even though it’s probably ages away!) and I will be picking that book up as soon as I get it.

5 thoughts on “A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

  1. Your review has got me so excited to go out and buy and read this book! I am in LOVE with Sarah J Maas’ Throne of Glass series and this book just sounds absolutely fan-freaking-tastic! I need it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

