Unspeakable by Abbie Rushton

unspeakableGenre: YA Contemporary
Pages: 279
Publisher: Atom
Format: Paperback
Source: Won
Rating: 3.5 stars
Buy the Book: Amazon, Waterstones, The Book Depository
Goodreads
Blurb:
Megan doesn’t speak. She hasn’t spoken in months.

Pushing away the people she cares about is just a small price to pay. Because there are things locked inside Megan’s head – things that are screaming to be heard – that she cannot, must not, let out.

Then Jasmine starts at school: bubbly, beautiful, talkative Jasmine. And for reasons Megan can’t quite understand, life starts to look a bit brighter.

Megan would love to speak again, and it seems like Jasmine might be the answer. But if she finds her voice, will she lose everything else?


Review:

I’ve had this book for a while now but I’ve never had any desire to read it however I saw it on my TBR shelf and I thought that is was time to get this off of my TBR. I actually ended up enjoying this more than I thought I would which was quite surprising.

The whole idea behind this book is incredibly unique as it follows a character who after a traumatic event, stops speaking all together. I was a bit wary about how the book would go if the main character couldn’t talk to anyone but it was handled really well. Her problem was dealt with properly and it wasn’t made fun of. The book also had an LGBT relationship without it being a really obvious thing. A lot of LGBT books that I have read, the whole plot has been about their sexuality so it was a nice breath of fresh air to read one that wasn’t about that.  On top of this, it deals a lot with bullying yet it also does this really well. Abbie Rushton has somehow been able to deal with a lot of serious topics all in one book.

This book also featured a little bit of mystery as Megan feels guilty for what happened but we don’t know why as we don’t learn what exactly happened until quite late into the book. I really enjoyed this part of the book as it was interesting and I loved learning about Megan and her best friend Hana as the book went on.

I did feel a little bit off about the ending. It just seemed too rushed and also too obvious. I also didn’t feel like all the issues were solved, especially with the bullies however the book as a whole was really good.

Overall, I enjoyed this book more than I thought I would and I would recommend it if you are into serious realistic contemporary novels but I wouldn’t class it as one of my favourite books.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Unspeakable by Abbie Rushton

Leave a Reply

