Paper or Plastic by Vivi Barnes

paper or plasticGenre: YA Romance
Pages: 352
Publisher: Entangled Teen
Format: E-book
Source: Bought
Rating: 4 stars
Buy the Book: Waterstones, Amazon, The Book Depository
Goodreads
Blurb:
Welcome to SmartMart, where crime pays minimum wage…

Busted. Alexis Dubois just got caught shoplifting a cheap tube of lipstick at the local SmartMart. She doesn’t know what’s worse—disappointing her overbearing beauty-pageant-obsessed mother for the zillionth time…or her punishment. Because Lex is forced to spend her summer working at the store, where the only things stranger than the staff are the customers.

Now Lex is stuck in the bizarro world of big-box retail. Coupon cutters, jerk customers, and learning exactly what a “Code B” really is (ew). And for added awkwardness, her new supervisor is the totally cute—and adorably geeky—Noah Grayson. Trying to balance her out-of-control mother, her pitching position on the softball team, and her secret crush on the school geek makes for one crazy summer. But ultimately, could the worst job in the world be the best thing that ever happened to her?

Review:

I have these periods where all I want to do is read a whole bunch of romance books and I am currently in one of these periods. Quite a few people on booktube have been receiving this book for review, so I thought I’d pick up a copy because it seemed like just what I wanted and it was. Paper or Plastic is a cutesy contemporary romance that is full of teenage angst and adorableness and I loved it.

I really loved the supermarket setting because it was unlike anything I’d ever read before. It was great to see the relationship between co-workers explored in YA because it never really is. All the characters who worked at SmartMart were so unique and different so they all bought something new to the page especially Ruthie. In fact most of the characters in this novel were amazing. While there were some characters that I wasn’t sure about, I can’t think of one character that I didn’t like.

When you first meet Lex, you don’t like her. I think this is what the author wanted though because we got to see Lex grow over the course of the novel to become a well rounded young girl. Seeing her become less snobby and irritating really made me enjoy the novel a lot more because at the start, I couldn’t stand her so I didn’t enjoy the book as much. However, I grew to really like Lex especially in scenes with her family. It still shocks me to read YA books with such a strong family presence and in this book, it focuses a lot on her relationship with her family, her mother and grandmother especially.

Now let’s talk about Noah. Ahh Noah. Noah Grayson was probably the best part of this book. I didn’t expect to swoon over the main guy as much as I did but he was just so fabulous. I loved how we learnt more about him as the book progressed as well. This really helped me to love the book even more. Noah was just the perfect gentleman in every way and now I want one. His name is even swoon worthy because Noah is such a fabulous name and Grayson just reminds me of Daniel Grayson from Revenge(who I love!).

This book was also unexpectedly thrilling. I loved the little twist towards the end that made it scary yet exciting. The inclusion of that whole scene made my love for the characters grow even stronger.

So overall, I really loved this book. I had to knock off a star simply because Lex irritated me slightly and she kept keeping secrets from everyone and it really annoyed me. If you like to read cute fluffy romance novels, this is definitely a good one to go with.

My review in a gif:

awww

3 thoughts on “Paper or Plastic by Vivi Barnes

Leave a Reply

