The DUFF by Kody Keplinger

The DuffGenre: YA Contemporary
Pages: 280
Publisher: Little Brown
Source: Bought
Format: E-book
Rating: 3.5 stars
Buy the Book: Waterstones, AmazonThe Book Depository
Goodreads
Blurb:
Seventeen-year-old Bianca Piper is cynical and loyal, and she doesn’t think she’s the prettiest of her friends by a long shot. She’s also way too smart to fall for the charms of man-slut and slimy school hottie Wesley Rush. In fact, Bianca hates him. And when he nicknames her “the Duff,” she throws her Coke in his face.

But things aren’t so great at home right now, and Bianca is desperate for a distraction. She ends up kissing Wesley. Worse, she likes it. Eager for escape, Bianca throws herself into a closeted enemies-with-benefits relationship with him.

Until it all goes horribly awry. It turns out Wesley isn’t such a bad listener, and his life is pretty screwed up, too. Suddenly Bianca realizes with absolute horror that she’s falling for the guy she thought she hated more than anyone.

Review:

It seems like everyone who reads YA has read this book so I must admit, I was pretty ashamed about the fact that I hadn’t read it. So with the movie coming out in the UK soon, I thought I’d finally get around to it and I must admit I was slightly disappointed. I still enjoyed it and I think it was a good read but I did find it to be slightly overhyped.

The book as a whole was good. I loved the moral of the story and I felt like it had a really good message.It dealt really well with some serious subjects and I loved that. I also really enjoyed the cast of characters. Bianca was your typical cynical high school student who hates everything that most high school students do yet I still liked reading from her perspective. I loved her friends Casey and Jessica because they contrasted Bianca perfectly and provided a nice balance. I also really loved Wesley as a character and not just because I kept picturing him as Robbie Amell who is playing him in the film adaptation. I felt like her perfectly embodied the typical male high school student. Yes he was a cliche, but who doesn’t enjoy a cliche once in a while? I actually would have liked to have seen more of him so that I could get to know him a little bit more but still, he was probably my favourite part of the novel.

My issue lied with Bianca. Even though I earlier I said I liked reading from her perspective, I didn’t understand her at all. Her relationship with Wesley made no sense to me. Why would you just randomly decide to kiss the guy you hate the most in the world? It makes no sense to me. This book also just seemed to be full of sex constantly so it felt like nothing was happening for the most part. The start and the end of the novel were good but while she was in this friends/enemies with benefits relationship with Wesley, that’s all that was happening yet still their relationship felt underdeveloped. I would have liked to see more of them actually talking to each other properly. The whole relationship just didn’t seem healthy at first. Later on, I grew to ship them and I wanted them together but I just didn’t see it at first.

So that’s how I felt about this book. It was an enjoyable read and I flew through it but there were quite a lot of flaws. I am definitely going to watch the movie even though everyone is saying that it is completely different to the book because it might be different in a good way. Plus Robbie Amell is in it and who doesn’t want to watch him on a big screen? If this sounds like a book you’d enjoy, definitely pick it up. I think the hype killed it for me in a way because I was expecting so much from it and I was let down.

 

2 thoughts on “The DUFF by Kody Keplinger

Leave a Reply

