Top 10 Books From My Childhood That I Would Love to Revisit

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and Bookish.

I was not an avid reader as a child. In fact, I didn’t read much at all so this list is going to be full of random books that I have memories of reading when I was younger but I may not actually have loved them. These are just some books I associate with my childhood(not including Harry Potter).

 1. Cloud Busting – Malorie Blackman:

This is probably my most reread book ever. I actually still own this book because I love it that much. It’s about a friendship between two guys and it’s told entirely in verse. I completely love this book because it is just an amazing read.

2. My Worst Best Friend – Dyan Sheldon:

I remember loving this book when I was younger but I’m not entirely sure why. It was a really intriguing book and I would like to reread it.

3. Boys Don’t Cry – Malorie Blackman:

This is probably my favourite book of all time. It’s definitely up there at the top. I read this book for the first time the day it came out. I just sat there and read it all. I however have not reread it since then and I really need to get on that because it is such an amazing book that I completely adore.

4. My Desperate Love Diary – Liz Rettig:

This series made up the first half of year 7 for me. It was all I  read. I recently learnt that there is actually another book in this series that I haven’t read but I would like to read it but I don’t think I’d enjoy this series anymore.

5. The Story of Tracy Beaker – Jacqueline Wilson:

Any British child knows who Jacqueline Wilson is. She releases so many books it’s ridiculous. This however is probably one of her most popular books as it became a very successful TV show that ran for years. I remember really loving this book when I was younger but I sadly no longer own it.

6. Matilda – Roald Dahl:

This book was one of my favourite books growing up and I completely loved it. Recently, I leant it to my younger cousin and he has lost it so soon I shall be investing in a new copy of this book because I really want to reread it.

7.The BFG- Roald Dahl:

This was another book that I grew up reading that I have lost my copy of which is quite depressing so I shall also be getting a new copy of this hopefully.

8. The Witches – Roald Dahl:

This book has the same reason as the above book for being on this list.

9. Laura’s Star – Klaus Baumgart:

I have read this book numerous times as it is a picture book that I loved as a child but it has been a while since I read it. I also recently learnt that this book had a German film adaptation so I may watch that at one point.

10.One Snowy Night – Nick Butterworth:

This was my favourite picture book while I was growing up. In fact this whole series about Percy the Park Ranger was my favourite thing ever when I was younger. However, I seem to have misplaced the books so I must invest in a new copy.

What are some of your favourite childhood books that you want to visit? Let me know down in the comments.

 

5 thoughts on “Top 10 Books From My Childhood That I Would Love to Revisit

  1. I was an avid reader as a child, but I have no memory of my life when I was younger than 10, so I unfortunately could not do this post! Great to read all the books you liked as a child.

    Like

    1. I don’t have any younger sisters for me to pass my books down to so I gave them to charity at the time when I decided that I was too cool for Tracy Beaker! How silly of me.

      Like

      1. You’re never too cool for Tracy Beaker! I make my sisters give me them back when they’re too old for them, I’m such a book hoarder!

        Like

Leave a Reply

