The Sky Is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson

The Sky Is EverywhereGenre: YA Contemporary
Pages: 320
Publisher: Walker Books
Source: Lucy(Queen of Contemporary)
Format: Paperback
Rating: 5 stars
Buy the Book: Waterstones, Amazon, The Book Depository
Goodreads
Blurb:
Seventeen-year-old Lennie Walker spends her time tucked safely and happily in the shadow of her fiery older sister, Bailey. But when Bailey dies abruptly, Lennie is catapulted to centre stage of her own life – and suddenly finds herself struggling to balance two boys. One boy takes Lennie out of her sorrow; the other comforts her in it. But the two can’t collide without Lennie’s world exploding…


Review:

I have been wanting to read this book since I first heard about it a year ago but I’ve also just got around to it and now I hate myself for not reading it earlier. This book was just fabulous and it dealt with grief very well.

The main character Lennie has gone through a major loss so she doesn’t know what to do with her life as her sister was kinda like her better half. Yes it is a love story but it is so much more than that. The book also focuses on Lennie becoming her own person as she was also a ‘companion pony’ as she describes herself. It’s about her learning about what she wants to do with her life and I love that. Yes she wasn’t the best person ever but when you’re grieving, you can’t expect to be nice and kind and she definitely wasn’t at times. She focused a lot on her own feelings that she just blocked out everyone else from her life and that’s what I loved about this book. It was so raw and real. She was exactly how you’d imagine someone to be when they lost their sister.

The other side characters were just so different to how you’d expect them to be. I especially loved her Grandmother and her Uncle Big. I loved the relationship that three of them had because they were all so odd and unique but they just formed this amazing family. I really enjoyed Joe as a character as well because I loved how into his music he was. I wish we would have seen more of him because I felt he was just slightly underdeveloped but I still loved him none the less. One character that I didn’t completely understand was Toby. I didn’t understand why what was happening between them was happening. The whole thing made no sense to me so that’s just one part of the novel that I wasn’t sure about.

I couldn’t write a review for this book and not mention the beautiful poetry. At the start of almost every chapter, there is a poem that Lennie had written and they were all beautiful and wonderful. I’m not the biggest fan of poetry but I just had to stop, sit back and marvel at the beautiful words. In fact the writing as a whole was just exquisite. I wanted to tab almost every sentence but I couldn’t because I quickly ran out of tabs to use. The writing was what made this book a 5 star read because it just blew me way. It’s the sort of writing that demands attention.

I feel like this is an extremely important book that needs to be read by a lot of people. I love this book so you all must read it as soon as possible.

2 thoughts on “The Sky Is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson

Leave a Reply

