Bollywood Movies

Recently, I haven’t been reading. Or blogging. All the posts that have gone up in the last two weeks have all been scheduled. There is one specific reason for this and the reason has slightly been given away in the title of the post. I have been watching Bollywood movies. Actually, correction. I’ve been re-watching Bollywood movies. As an Asian child, I grew up watching Bollywood movies and I really enjoyed them when I was younger but then I went through a period of despising them. However, recently I’ve decided to re-watch some of my favourites that I loved when I was younger and I’ve gotten back into watching them. As I don’t want to commit this blog to just about reading, I thought I’d make a post about the 5 Bollywood movies that I’ve recently watched again. These are some of my favourites but not all of them. I personally feel like anyone can enjoy Bollywood movies. I don’t speak Hindi so I don’t know what they are actually saying but I just read the subtitles and I love them still.

These are just the 5 movies that I’ve re-watched recently and I will be sharing them in the order in which I watched them again recently. I do recommend all of these movies and yes they are all romance movies.

Mohabbatein(Love Stories):

This is possibly my favourite Bollywood movie and I’ve always really loved it. Even when I went through my phase of hating on Bollywood movies, I still really loved this one and I’ve watched it numerous times. This movie is hard to explain so click here if you want to go view the IMDB page(all Bollywood movies take a while to explain). This movie is just a really lovely story about the power of love and I really enjoy it a lot. I don’t know what it is about this movie that I love but I just really do love it.

mohabbatein all couples

Dilwale Dulhania Le Jayenge(The Brave Hearted Will Take Away the Bride):

This movie is iconic in India. It came out in 1995 and it is still in Indian cinemas today.  Last year they celebrated the fact that it had been in cinema for 1000 consecutive weeks. It’s crazy. I absolutely love this movie as well as it is a brilliant love story that means a lot. I love the onscreen pairing of Kajol and Shah Rukh Khan(in fact three of these movies have them as the main couple and four of them actually have Shah Rukh Khan in them). Also the songs in this film are just A+.  Click here if you are interested in going to the IMDB page and finding out more about it(I really think you should). Plus this movie is on Netflix as is Mohabbatein.

The train scene which has become iconic in India
The train scene which has become iconic in India

Kabhi Khushi Kabhie Gham(Sometimes Happiness, Sometimes Sadness):

This movie never fails to make me cry. Every single time, I will cry at it. I haven’t cried in almost a year but 10 minutes into this movie, I was bawling my eyes out. I don’t know what it is about this movie. It’s a wonderful story that is all about loving your parents and the importance of family. I honestly feel like this film is a really important film that everyone should watch. Click here if you want to go to the IMDB page. Like honestly, watch this movie.

It was so hard to find a happy gif of this movie!
It was so hard to find a happy gif of this movie!

Kuch Kuch Hota Hai(Something Happens):

After watching Kabhi Khushi Kabhie Gham, I wanted to watch a happier movie that I loved. Yet I still cried at this movie. This movie is an amazing love story about two friends and I just love it. This movie also has Kajol and Shah Rukh Khan in it and their chemisty in this movie was just fabulous. Also, I really love the songs in this one too(I like the songs in all of these movies, I’ve had them all on repeat for the last two weeks).Click here if you want to find out more about this film.

KKHH shake

Hum Tum(Me and You):

This movie is a lesser known movie compared to the others but I still really enjoy it. This is a light hearted love story about two people who meet one day but absolutely hate each other. However, over time they keep meeting and they start to fall in love. It is based off of When Harry Met Sally but it is much more fun and enjoyable to watch. This is a movie that you should watch when you want to just have fun and to cheer you up. Click here to go to the IMDB page.

ladki kyon Hum Tum

These are just 5 Bollywood movies that I’ve re-watched recently and I’ve loved all of them. I will probably be re-watching some more soon so I may make a follow up post but I’m not sure. I’m sorry that this is not a book related post but I want to share all the inner workings of my brain on this blog so I thought I’d share with you guys what is currently going through my brain. I hope you enjoyed it anyway and I’ll see you soon(hopefully with a book review!).

3 thoughts on “Bollywood Movies

Leave a Reply

