Vanishing Girls by Lauren Oliver

Vanishing GirlsGenre: YA Contemporary
Pages: 368
Publisher: Harper Collins
Source: YABirmingham
Format: Proof copy
Rating: 5 stars
Buy the Book: Waterstones, Amazon, The Book Depository
Goodreads
Blurb:
Dara and Nick used to be inseparable, but that was before the accident that left Dara’s beautiful face scarred and the two sisters totally estranged. When Dara vanishes on her birthday, Nick thinks Dara is just playing around. But another girl, nine-year-old Madeline Snow, has vanished, too, and Nick becomes increasingly convinced that the two disappearances are linked. Now Nick has to find her sister, before it’s too late.

In this edgy and compelling novel, Lauren Oliver creates a world of intrigue, loss, and suspicion as two sisters search to find themselves, and each other.


Review:

This review was written when I read the book in February.

I have been a fan of Lauren Oliver’s writing since I first read her delirium trilogy, 2 years ago. So of course, I knew that when Vanishing Girls came out I had to get my hands on it. I was fortunate enough to get my hands on a proof copy back in January so I picked it up as soon as I had the chance. This story immediately drew me in because it was unlike anything I had ever read before. I can not think of a book that focuses strongly on a sisterly relationship and that’s why I wanted to read this book more.

Both Nick and Dara were interesting to read about because they were different but also very similar in how they felt. I loved reading the book from both of their perspectives because the story felt more real coming from both of their points of view. I must admit, I leaned slightly more towards Nick as her attitude was more similar to what mine would be in her situation but I really enjoyed Dara as well.

As it’s a Lauren Oliver book, I can’t not talk about how beautiful the writing was. Her writing is gripping yet poetic. You want to keep reading but you also have to stop in order to admire the beauty of the words she is saying. Her writing never stops astounding me and if you’ve never read a book by her, you need to pick one up because her writing will just blow you away.

The ending of this book shocked me. I did not see any of it coming. I probably should have but I just did not see it coming. It was so perfectly done with little clues throughout and I just loved it so much. It broke my heart but it also put it back together again.

This book is probably my favourite of Lauren Oliver’s books which is a big deal because I am a big fan of all of her books(that I’ve read!). This book gripped me, made me happy, broke my heart and put it back together all over again. If you have read Lauren Oliver’s books, you should definitely go read this one. If you haven’t read her books, start with this one! You will fall in love with Lauren Oliver’s amazing writing, characters and stories. I strongly recommend this book! STRONGLY RECOMMEND!

 

6 thoughts on “Vanishing Girls by Lauren Oliver

Leave a Reply

