UKYA Extravaganza

On the 28th February, the long awaited UKYA Extravaganza finally happened and as it was being held in Birmingham(where I lived), I was lucky enough to be able to go. This event was completely amazing and I loved it. I thought I’d do a small write up of the event and everything I did there(also featuring some terrible yet fabulous photos).

IMG_1920

When we first arrived, we sat down and listened to some authors do readings but then Kerry Drewery and Emma Pass decided to change it up and have it as small panels and Q&As so you could also travel around the room talking to all of the 35 authors, getting things signed and just mingling in general. After listening to a few panels, I decided to get up and go talk to some bloggers and authors. I had quite a few books to get signed(only 10 I think) so I was trying to track specific authors down but I did talk to quite a lot of the authors as well.

I managed to talk to a lot of authors that I have been talking to on Twitter for a while now for example Eve Ainsworth and Anna McKerrow. It was absolutely amazing to talk to them in real life and get to have a proper conversation with them and they were even more fabulous in person. I also got to spend a little bit of time with Kerry Drewery and Emma Pass who were the organisers of the event and it was lovely to talk to them in person about the event and about their books.

IMG_1871 IMG_1872 IMG_1876

I also got to talk to some authors who I had never really talked to before for example Kate Ormand and Natasha Ngan. I am now very excited to pick up their books because talking to them was a lot of fun.

I loved talking to the authors but I also really adored talking to all the bloggers especially some of the ones that I’ve been friends with and some of the ones that I admire. For the first hour, me and my friends were trying to figure out a way to go talk to Benjaminoftomes and Ariel Bissett who are booktubers that I have been watching since early 2013 and I really admire them as people. When I finally worked up the courage to go talk to them, they were completely lovely and wonderful. They were so kind and sweet. I also got to meet Lucy from Queen of Contemporary which was also great because she was so sweet.

IMG_1867 IMG_1910 IMG_1865

I also got to make new friends at this event because somehow, I managed to be social and talk to people. I am never social but yesterday I was the queen of socializing. I made quite a few new friends and hopefully I will keep in contact with them.

IMG_1912

Overall, yesterday was an amazing day. As somebody who has not been to any blogger events, it was great to see everyone together in one place. I believe they may be planning to hold more events like this all around the country so if you have the chance to go to on, please do. They are amazing events and I think we should all support UKYA. My favourite part of the event was definitely all the mingling with the authors and bloggers because it was great to talk to everyone about books and UKYA so I really loved it.

5 thoughts on “UKYA Extravaganza

  1. Great write up, and I’m so jealous you got a copy of Crow Moon! Sorry we didn’t get to speak, promise I’ll be less shy and say hi next time!

    Like

Leave a Reply

