Bookish Academy Awards

As the Oscars were on Sunday, I thought it would be great to redo the Bookish Academy Awards tag that was created by Kayla over at Bookadoodles on Youtube. I did this tag last year and I only included books that I read in 2013 so today I thought I’d do it based on books I read in 2014. I may even make this a yearly thing that I do around this time. This tag just takes the Oscar awards and adapts them to make them book related. For each award, I will give a winner and at least one honourable mention.

Best Actor: (Best Male Protagonist)

For this category, I had to pick Adrian Ivashkov from the Bloodlines series and he counts because Silver Shadows(the 5th book in the series) is in dual point of view between Adrian and Sydney. Adrian is one of my favourite male characters overall and I absolutely love reading from his point of view. He is damaged and he has issues but he is strong and he also has a lot of love for Sydney and this comes across.

Honourable Mention: Leo Valdez from The Blood of Olympus

Best Actress:(Best Female Protagonist)

I am going to have to go with the same answer that I picked the last time I did this post and that is Celaena Sardothien from the Throne of Glass series. In 2014, I read The Assassin’s Blade and Heir of Fire from this series and I absolutely loved Celaena’s growth that we saw in this series. We saw a lot more of her and I completely loved that.

Honourable Mention: Sam McKenna from Rites of Passage

Best Cinematography:(Best Plot Twist)

I am a very hard person to impress when it comes to plot twists so out of all of my 2014 reads, there is only one book that stands out to me as having a great plot twist and that was a Grimm Warning by Chris Colfer which is the third book in the Land of Stories series. I absolutely love and adore this series and the ending to this book just blew my mind! I’m dying for the fourth book now.

Honourable Mention:  I can’t think of another one.

Best Costume Design:(Best Book Cover)

This has got to go to Ignite Me because that book cover was just stunning and beautiful. I really want to get my hands on a physical copy of this book just so I can stare at it constantly.

13188676

Honourable Mention: A Little Something Different by Sandy Hall 

A Little Something Different

Best Supporting Actress and Actor: (Best Male and Female Sidekick)

My best male sidekick has to go to Nico Di Angelo in the Heroes of Olympus series by Rick Riordan. While he got his own POV in Blood of Olympus, he still does not class as a main character in my eyes. I completely love Nico and I’ve been obsessed with him for almost 3 years now. My favourite female sidekick has to be Isabelle Lightwood from The Mortal Instruments series. She is kickass and amazing so I can’t not love her.

Honourable Mentions: Simon Lewis from The Mortal Instruments, Reyna from The Heroes of Olympus

Best Original Screenplay: (Most Unique Plot/World)

For this I have to pick Ready Player One by Ernest Cline because the world created in this book was just so different and unique and I completely fell in love with it.

Honourable Mention: Rites of Passage by Joy N Hensley 

Best Adapted Screenplay: (Best Book-to-Movie Adaptation)

There were many great and amazing book to movie adaptations in 2014 so it is hard to pick just one but I have to pick If I Stay. I completely love and adored this adaptation because it stuck to the book so well and it conveyed the feelings perfectly.

if i stay cello, guitar

Honourable Mentions: The Maze Runner, Mockingjay part 1(I’m only including adaptations for which I have read the book as well) 

Best Animated Feature:(A book that would work well in animated format)

I know that I’ve already picked this book once but I really think that A Grimm Warning would make an amazing animated movie but obviously they’d have to do the whole series and not just the third one. The book has illustrations throughout and seeing these in a movie format would be amazing.

Honourable Mention:  Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

Best Director:(A writer you discovered for the first time)

For this I’m going to pick Gayle Forman because while I wasn’t a fan of her Just One Day duology, I completely loved her If I Stay duology and I Was Here by her. The way she writes is just beautiful and moving

Honourable Mentions: Giovanna Fletcher, Kasie West, Sophie Davis

Best Visual Effects:(Best Action in a Book)

The Assassin’s Blade by Sarah J Maas was completely full of action and I loved that. I loved Celaena’s life as an assassin before the events in Throne of Glass and this book was honestly amazing!

Honourable Mention:  Rites of Passage by  Joy N Hensley

Best Musical Score:(Best Music in a book-to-movie adaptation)

I feel bad for picking this movie again but I loved the music in If I Stay especially the final song that Adam sings to Mia. I love how Jamie Blackley, who played Adam, sang most of the songs and they all suited the movie perfectly.

jamie blackley guitar

Honourable Mention: The Fault in Our Stars 

Best Short Film:(Best Novella or Short Book)

I didn’t read many novellas in 2014 but one that I did read at the end of the year that I completely loved was Until Midnight by Melissa Landers which is an Alienated novella. It was so cute and adorable and it was a perfect bridge between the two novels.

Honourable Mention:  Free Four by Veronica Roth

Best Picture: (Best Stand-Alone)

Rites of Passage by Joy N Hensley has to get this award because I fell completely in love with this book because it was so different and unlike anything else I’ve ever read. I loved the characters and the very unique plot it had.

Honourable mention:  To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

Best Documentary: (Best Historical Fiction or Non-Fiction)

I have got to give this to Brunette Ambition by Lea Michele. Lea has been my idol since around 2009 when Glee first started so when her book was released, I almost immediately snatched it up and read it. I loved the way that Lea told us about her life while also including recipes and beauty tips.

I have a slight girl crush on her.
I have a slight girl crush on her.

Honourable Mention:  Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck

I hope you enjoyed this post. Do you agree with some of the books that I’ve included? Let me know down in the comments about some of the books you would include in these categories.

2 thoughts on “Bookish Academy Awards

Leave a Reply

