Blue by Lisa Glass

BlueGenre: YA Romance
Pages: 375
Publisher: Quercus
Source: YABirmingham
Format: Paperback
Rating: 3 stars
Buy the Book: Waterstones, Amazon, The Book Depository
Goodreads
Blurb:
Surfing is sixteen-year-old Iris’s world, and when the ultra-talented Zeke walks into her life, it soon becomes her passion.

Over one amazing summer, as she is drawn into his sphere, she experiences love, new friendships, but also loss, with an intensity she never dreamed of.

But is Zeke all he seems? What hides beneath his glamorous and mysterious past? When Iris decides to try for her own surfing success, just as her ex-boyfriend comes back into her life, she will test her talent, and her feelings for Zeke, to the limit…

Review:

I had never planned on ever reading this book until I got a copy of it. I never wanted to buy the book simply because of the cover. However when I got the copy, I was interested in reading it so I picked it up. I am a sucker for YA romance novels as I find them quick to read and enjoyable. Blue didn’t disappoint in that sense. It was exactly what I thought it would be.

I have never read a book based entirely on surfing so I found it interesting to read about. I must admit, I was very confused. Iris, the protagonist, would use terms that I wasn’t aware of and while some of the surfing terminology was explained, it still wasn’t clear. I did enjoy reading about the surfing part of it and my favourite parts of the novel were the surfing parts.

I felt like the romance in this novel was slightly odd. It didn’t feel real. I didn’t feel the connection between the two characters and I felt that they got together too quickly and became a part of his life straight away. I did liked Iris as a character and I really enjoyed Zeke as well but together, I personally just couldn’t see the connection.

I loved the fact that this book dealt with other things as well. The focus on family was really interesting to read about and the homophobia as well. I feel like this is a really good summer read so I recommend it if you’re looking for a quick and fast paced contemporary read. I’m not sure if I will pick up the sequel when it comes out but I’ll have to see.

2 thoughts on “Blue by Lisa Glass

Leave a Reply

