Butter by Erin Lange

ButterGenre: YA Contemporary
Pages: 352
Publisher: Faber and Faber
Source: Waterstones
Format: Paperback
Rating: 4 stars
Buy the Book: Waterstones, Amazon, The Book Depository
Goodreads
Blurb:
You think I eat a lot now? That’s nothing. Tune in December 31st, when I will stream a live webcast of my last meal. Death row inmates get one. Why shouldn’t I? I can’t take another year in this fat suit, but I can end this year with a bang. If you can stomach it, you’re invited to watch … as I eat myself to death.

So starts Butter, the story of a lonely 423-pound boy everyone calls ‘Butter’. Worse than being ridiculed for his size at high school, he is simply ignored. Desperate, he pledges to eat himself to death live on the Internet – and everyone will watch. When he makes this announcement online, he expects pity, insults, or possibly sheer indifference. Instead, his classmates become morbid cheerleaders for his deadly plan.

Yet as their dark encouragement grows, it begins to feel a lot like popularity. And that feels good. But what happens when Butter reaches his suicide deadline?


Review:

I really enjoyed reading this book because it may sound weird but I do like to read books about suicide. Obviously, books about suicide aren’t for everyone but I do like to read about suicide myself as I find the topic interesting to read about. Living in the world that we live in, suicide is a taboo subject for obvious reasons so reading books about suicide helps me to think about reasons why.

This book was quite similar to Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock(click here for my review) by Matthew Quick as we had a character who was planning to commit suicide and while both books have a different approach to the topic, but both characters were funny. Butter in this book was enjoyable to read about which you probably wouldn’t expect when you are going into this. But the book has dark humour and I weirdly enjoyed reading it.

This book showed the extent of bullying. The story of how he got the nickname Butter really got to me and shocked me. What was happening with the children around school once he posted the website also shocked me and I found myself dying to read on to see what happened next. The one aspect of this book that I didn’t enjoy was the slight romance plot of it. While it was only minor, it felt out of place and I would have enjoyed the novel a lot more if there was no romance.

This was an outstanding novel from Erin Lange and I really did love it. The way she protrayed the eating problem felt realistic and I loved that about it. I definitely recommend this book if you are okay to read about a touchy subject such as suicide.

2 thoughts on “Butter by Erin Lange

Leave a Reply

