Trouble by Non Pratt

TroubleGenre: YA Contemporary
Pages: 384
Publisher: Walker
Source: Amazon
Format: Paperback
Rating: 4 stars
Buy the Book: Waterstones, Amazon, The Book Depository
Goodreads
Blurb:
When the entire high school finds out that Hannah Shepard is pregnant via her ex-best friend, she has a full-on meltdown in her backyard. The one witness (besides the rest of the world): Aaron Tyler, a transfer student and the only boy who doesn’t seem to want to get into Hannah’s pants. Confused and scared, Hannah needs someone to be on her side. Wishing to make up for his own past mistakes, Aaron does the unthinkable and offers to pretend to be the father of Hannah’s unborn baby. Even more unbelievable, Hannah hears herself saying “yes.”

Told in alternating perspectives between Hannah and Aaron, Trouble is the story of two teenagers helping each other to move forward in the wake of tragedy and devastating choices. As you read about their year of loss, regret, and hope, you’ll remember your first, real best friend—and how they were like a first love.


Review:

When this book first came out over a year ago there was a lot of hype around it but I told myself that I was never going to read it. I have never really enjoyed reading about teen pregnancy so I decided that I wasn’t going to even contemplate picking this book up. Well, wasn’t I an idiot? I was recently convinced by people on Twitter to finally read this book so I bought it and immediately picked it up. Then I didn’t stop reading until I was finished.

Both characters were unique. I must admit for the first half of the book, I wasn’t really a fan of Hannah. I wasn’t a fan of the fact that she was promiscuous and I didn’t particularly like her attitude. I do agree that Non Pratt was accurately portraying your ordinary teenage girl and I love that she did that.However as the book progressed, she changed. She became a much more mature person, obviously due to the circumstances she was put in. I loved that. The pregnancy itself was dealt with well as well and despite the fact that it was a big thing, it didn’t take over everything in her life. Other issues still existed. I loved reading from Aaron’s perspective. I loved Aaron as a character because he was wonderfully complex while still quite ordinary in ways. I loved how we grew to know him and the book wasn’t completely focused on Hannah’s pregnancy. We were also dealing with Aaron’s issues and I loved that. Life didn’t stop because Hannah was pregnant.

The one thing I have to praise is the wonderful writing in this book. I loved it a lot because it felt very real. It felt like I was in the mind of a teenager rather than in the mind of an adult who was trying to be in the mind of a teenager. I loved that the story was told in alternating POVs and how even conversations were split between them. I just loved the way this whole story was told.

Overall Trouble was an amazing read and I hate myself for not reading it earlier. It was so good and much better than I predicted. It wasn’t a 5 star read simply because I found it predictable. I predicted who the father was very early on and I also predicted why Aaron left his previous school. However, this did not take away from the overall enjoyment. I loved reading this book and I learnt a lot from it. I cannot help but think that there’s room for more at the end. I want to know what was in the letter, I want to see how Hannah copes with the baby. I would very much like a sequel but I’m still quite happy with it remaining a standalone. If you haven’t read Trouble(especially if you are like me and you’re putting it off because of the subject matter),  I suggest you go pick up a copy now because you will fall in love with Hannah and Aaron’s story.

 

4 thoughts on “Trouble by Non Pratt

  1. I have the same thing that I don’t really like teenage pregnancy stories but I really enjoyed the extract of this in Love Hurts. Sounds like it’s worth a read!

    Like

Leave a Reply

