One Year On…

A year ago today, I published my first post that is still currently up. Before that, I had many posts but I deleted them all because I didn’t like them but here I am a year on. My first post was a review of Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell which is my favourite book of all time. Today I thought I’d tell you a little bit about how I’ve changed and also amazing things that have happened to me within the last year.

A year ago, I decided to stick with it and actually make a blog and not give up after 2 days and I’m so glad I did. When I first created my blog, it was just created to write out my opinions about books that I’ve read.In fact, I never intended for anyone to read it until I wrote my first ever book review. After I wrote this review I deleted every post before it because I didn’t like them. I was so proud of that review that I decided to share it with the world(via Twitter) and I’m so glad I did. Becoming a book blogger was honestly one of the best things I’ve ever done.

This was basically how I felt about starting a blog.
This was basically how I felt about starting a blog.

I’ve been following the book universe via blogs and YouTube for about two years now so I’ve always loved the community. Joining the community was scary at first. Until late 2014, I wasn’t entirely sure how to get myself out there. I’ve always been a very socially awkward person so I always feel uncomfortable talking to new people. However last year I decided to throw caution to the wind and start talking a little bit more. I still don’t talk much but I was just sick and tired of being surrounded by loud friends and being ignored because I’m a naturally quiet person so people generally forget that I’m there. This still happens to me quite often but I’ve also started talking to people a lot more. This is happened much more recently through Twitter.

It's a new world!
It’s a new world!

I had been following #ukyachat on Twitter for a long time now but I had never joined in because I felt like you had to be a particular person in order to join in. However at the start of 2015, I decided to just take part and it was amazing. I have participated in all the 2015 #ukyachats this year and it’s been fabulous. Talking to people who I don’t know in real life about books and making new friends is really something I’ve been wanting to do for a while. I have become quite friendly with quite a lot of bloggers through this chat and I could not be more grateful.

I have also become slightly more confident in person due to one thing; YA Birmingham. For those of you who don’t know about them, I direct you to my wrapping up 2014 post about YABirminghamΒ and my post about why Waterstones Birmingham is the best bookshop in the world. The events here have helped me so much to become who I am today. I’m constantly surrounded by loud, confident people every day but I never really truly feel like I belong because I’m not like them. However, these events feel like home. I constantly feel like I belong and like I’m meant to be there because there are so many people like me there. I have met so many new amazing people at these events and I have made so many great friends and for that I am eternally grateful.

sheldon

So over the last year, I have changed but I have also not in some ways. I have talked about confidence a lot in this post but I am still incredibly shy and reluctant to do anything probably because of the people I am surrounded by. Being surrounded by confident people doesn’t help me to improve my confidence but I’m getting there. I’m doing new things especially with my blog. I’ve been getting myself out there and I think over the next year, I’m going to become a much more confident person. Going through all these new experiences that I will definitely be going through this year is going to hopefully make me more confident.

There are going to be so many changes this year and I can’t wait. I especially can’t wait to see what I’m going to do with this blog. I have so many things planned and quite a lot of new things have been coming my way as well. I can’t wait to see this blog hopefully develop into something a lot bigger and better and I hope you’ll stick around to see it happen.

I only have one thing left to say and that is thank you. Thank you to everyone who follows me or just reads my blog. Thank you to everyone who has helped me in the past year. Thank you to everyone in the book blogging community, especially the UKYA community for making me feel so welcome. I love you all and I can’t wait to see what’s going to happen in this next year.

I LOVE YOU GUYS!
I LOVE YOU GUYS!

 

 

9 thoughts on “One Year On…

  1. Congratulations on your one year blog anniversary! I love you blog and I’m definitely going to continue to follow and support you and to see how big your blog will grow! πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. This actually made me emotional. You have changed so much over the last year and you have become much more confident. It’s awesome that you finally recognise this and I wish you well as you continue on to do more amazing things. I love your blog because it is fabulous and for me, it is really inspirational so well done!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

