The Fearless by Emma Pass

The Fearless UKGenre: YA Dystopian
Pages: 400
Publisher: Corgi
Source: Amazon
Format: Paperback
Rating: 5 stars
Buy the Book: Waterstones, Amazon, The Book Depository
Goodreads
Blurb:
The Fearless. An army, powered by an incredible new serum that makes each soldier stronger, sharper, faster than their enemies. Intended as a force for good, the serum has a terrible side-effect – anyone who takes it is stripped of all humanity, empathy, love. And as the Fearless sweep through the country, forcing the serum on anyone in their path, society becomes a living nightmare.

Cass remembers the night they passed through her village. Her father was Altered. Her mother died soon after. All Cass has left is her little brother – and when Jori is snatched by the Fearless and taken to their hellish lair, Cass must risk everything to get him back.


Review:

I started reading this book last night and I just couldn’t put it down so I read it all in one sitting! I completely fell in love with this book. After having read Acid by the same author(click here for my review) last month, I knew that I had to pick up this book as soon as I had this chance. I’m so glad I finally did because it was so good.

Cass as a main character wasn’t the strongest but I did still love her because she had morals from the start. When everyone else on the island refused to go after her brother, she immediately worked up a plan to go. While she didn’t think things through thoroughly, she had the best intentions so I couldn’t hate her. I loved reading from her perspective because she made sense. Myo’s chapters were slightly odd at first because he was holding back a secret, even from the reader so I didn’t know whether I could trust him or not. I loved reading from Sol’s perspective at the start because I really admired him and then bam! Massive character change! I’m still not quite sure what happened or why it happened but damn he went crazy.

The plot of this novel was incredibly fast paced and I couldn’t put it down. There was always something happening. Every time I tried to put it down, I kept thinking about what was happening so I immediately went back to it. I wanted to find out what was going to happen next. While I did figure out Myo’s secret almost immediately after we met him, I still really enjoyed watching him struggle with the decision to tell Cass.

The ending of this book left me hanging and I’m very upset about the fact that this is a stand alone. I want to know what’s going to happen. I want to know what happens to the characters and how they fix everything. I need to know!

I really really loved this book and I recommend it to anyone who is a fan of fast paced dystopian novels. I would say that I preferred this one over Acid because while I loved Acid, this one was more gripping and addictive. Emma Pass’ writing never fails to grip me and I will definitely pick up anything else she writes. I strongly recommend this book to everyone!

4 thoughts on “The Fearless by Emma Pass

Leave a Reply

