Seven Days by Eve Ainsworth

Seven Days
Genre: YA Contemporary
Pages: 249
Publisher: Scholastic
Source: Michelle from Tales of Yesterday(Thanks!)
Format: Proof copy
Rating: 5 stars
Buy the book: Amazon, The Book Depository
Goodreads
Blurb:
This bold, compelling and topical story about bullying is told from the perspective of the bully and the bullied. You won’t be able put it down until you’ve reached the conclusion. Jess’s life is difficult enough without Kez picking on her – it’s turning school from a safe place into a nightmare. Kez has plenty of problems too but she finds comfort in knowing she is better off than Jess – or so she thinks. A hard-hitting and even-handed look at bullying and the issues facing teenagers today.


Review:

Last night, I picked this book with every intention of reading about 50 pages and then going to bed. However, I could not put this book today. As this was a contemporary book about bullying, I was expecting it to be a slow book that was powerful over time but even the first page hit me emotionally.  The first page sets up the whole book and from then on in, you’re hooked and you want to know more about what is happening.

The main reason I loved this book was because of the characters. The first chapter was from Jess’ perspective and I immediately connected with her. I understood Jess. I knew that if I went to the same school as here, I would probably be in a similar position. Jess really affected me a lot because of her situation and how she felt. Kez was also a very intriguing character and I loved reading from her perspective as well despite the fact that she was the bully. Both characters had issues but Jess’ were more on show where as Kez kept all of her problems hidden away.The side characters were also great. I loved Lyn, Kez’s boyfriend, especially as he really did start off the events that took place in that week.

I loved how we saw parallels between Kez’s family life and Kez’s relationship with Jess and it really helped explain why she was the way she was. The fact that this book was set over 7 days also really helped. Having it set over a small period of time meant that the novel was fast paced and you can see the different changes that happen with the characters in just 7 days. All the scenes just flowed perfectly and they were all perfectly intertwined and I really loved that.

Eve Ainsworth is an amazing author who wrote a stunning debut novel that just opened my eyes to the world of bullying. I feel like this is such an important book that everyone should read no matter whether you are being bullied, being a bully, watching someone be bullied or just want to know more about bullies. This book has really affected me a lot and I think a lot of people would love it. Eve Ainsworth’s debut novel hit home and her writing was amazing so I can’t wait for anymore potential novels from her.

 

8 thoughts on “Seven Days by Eve Ainsworth

Leave a Reply

