Model Misfit by Holly Smale

Model MisfitGenre: YA Contemporary
Pages: 356
Publisher: Harper Collins
Source: Bought
Format: Paperback
Rating:  5 stars
Buy the Book: Waterstones, Amazon, The Book Depository
Goodreads
Blurb:
“My name is Harriet Manners, and I am still a geek.”

Harriet knows that modelling won’t transform you. She knows that being as uniquely odd as a polar bear isn’t necessarily a bad thing (even in a rainforest). And that the average person eats a ton of food a year, though her pregnant stepmother is doing her best to beat this.

What Harriet doesn’t know is where she’s going to fit in once the new baby arrives.

With summer plans ruined, modelling in Japan seems the perfect chance to get as far away from home as possible. But nothing can prepare Harriet for the craziness of Tokyo, her competitive model flatmates and her errant grandmother’s ‘chaperoning’. Or seeing gorgeous Nick everywhere she goes.

Because, this time, Harriet knows what a broken heart feels like.

Can geek girl find her place on the other side of the world or is Harriet lost for good?


Review:
This review is of the sequel to Geek Girl. If you would like to read my review of Geek Girl, click here.

After reading Geek Girl, I knew that I wanted to pick up the rest of the series. So that’s what I did! I picked Model Misfit earlier last week but then I got distracted by other books so I had to put it back down. However on Saturday, I decided to finish it and it honestly didn’t take me that long. While these books aren’t very short, they are quick to read due to the pacing and the fact that you’re constantly laughing and smiling while reading them.

Harriet in this book was the same as she was before in Geek Girl but she had gone through character development. The whole point of Harriet is that she is embarrassing and she doesn’t know what to do in these situations and this aspect of her wasn’t taken away in this sequel. She was still as embarrassing as always. I found myself cringing constantly about what she had done and while she wasn’t the smartest main character, she certainly was the most enjoyable. The whole book was hilarious simply because of the fact that it was from her point of view.

The other characters were also amazing in this book. The old characters were much more developed and while they weren’t in the novel quite as much, you still felt like they were there. I especially loved Toby because I love their friendship. It may seem weird that I love the relationship Harriet has with her stalker but it really is a unique one! I also loved reading about the new characters introduced in this novel because they really did bring something new to the table.The fact that this novel was set in Tokyo was even more amazing. I loved reading about what Tokyo was like and now I want to go there!

Overall, this was a very good sequel. It was a lot of fun and the characters, writing and storyline were all superb. If you’re looking for a fun fast paced read that will keep a smile on your face constantly, definitely pick up this series.

8 thoughts on “Model Misfit by Holly Smale

    1. I really liked Geek Girl and I have now read all three! Picture Perfect is probably my least favourite of the series but it’s still very good! Are you going to the Birmingham signing?

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

