Invaded by Melissa Landers

InvadedGenre: YA Science Fiction
Pages: 356
Publisher: Disney Hyperion
Source: Bought
Format: E-book
Rating: 4.5 stars
Buy the book: Waterstones, Amazon, The Book Depository
Goodreads
Blurb:
*SPOILERS FOR ALIENATED*
The romantic sequel to Alienated takes long-distance relationships to a new level as Cara and Aelyx long for each other from opposite ends of the universe…until a threat to both their worlds reunites them.

Cara always knew life on planet L’eihr would be an adjustment. With Aelyx, her L’eihr boyfriend, back on Earth, working to mend the broken alliance between their two planets, Cara is left to fend for herself at a new school, surrounded by hostile alien clones. Even the weird dorm pet hates her.

Things look up when Cara is appointed as human representative to a panel preparing for a human colony on L’eihr. A society melding their two cultures is a place where Cara and Aelyx could one day make a life together. But with L’eihr leaders balking at granting even the most basic freedoms, Cara begins to wonder if she could ever be happy on this planet, even with Aelyx by her side.

Meanwhile, on Earth, Aelyx, finds himself thrown into a full-scale PR campaign to improve human-L’eihr relations. Humans don’t know that their very survival depends on this alliance: only Aelyx’s people have the technology to fix the deadly contamination in the global water supply that human governments are hiding. Yet despite their upper hand, the leaders of his world suddenly seem desperate to get humans on their side, and hardly bat an eye at extremists’ multiple attempts on Aelyx’s life.

The Way clearly needs humans’ help . . . but with what? And what will they ask for in return?


Review:
This review is about the sequel to Alienated. If you want to read my review of Alienated, click here.

Last year, I could not stop raving about Alienated so I was incredibly excited for the sequel to be released this month. I had very high expectations and it did not disappoint. Due to how Alienated ended, Invaded was quite different to Alienated due to a drastic change in setting and plot so I was slightly wary about not enjoying it as much and while I didn’t enjoy reading it as much as I enjoyed reading Alienated, I still really loved reading it.

The characters in this book became much more developed. We learnt a lot more about some of the side characters such as Syrine and we got to see parts of the main characters that we had never seen before. We also got to meet some new fascinating characters who I really loved especially David.One of the best things about this book is definitely the characters.

There were two different stories happening at one time, one from Cara’s perspective and one from Aelyx’s perspective. I loved both stories but I was much more interested in Cara’s storyline. I enjoyed hers more mainly because I had predicted what was happening to Aelyx but I found Cara’s incredibly enthralling. I did not predict what was going to happen shockingly even though I did predict one little part of the plot. I really enjoyed following both stories and they were both intriguing.

The writing in this book was fun and enjoyable. It was really fun to read and I found myself laughing at some of the scenes mainly due to her writing. I love how both different POVs were unique and they both had their own voice which I really enjoyed.

The reason I gave this book a 4.5 out of 5 stars but not a 5 is because I didn’t find it as fun to read as I found Alienated but I did still really enjoy it. There was also a lot less romance which made sense with the story as the world was being developed and it focused a lot more on the politics. Due to there being less cute and adorable moments, I couldn’t give it 5 stars because I loved Alienated a lot especially because of all the adorableness! Overall, this was a very good sequel that satisfied my need for a second book. The ending left off with room for another book in this series and I really hope there will be a next book because I want to know what happens in this world next! If you’ve read Alienated, definitely go pick this book up. If you haven’t read Alienated, go pick that book up now!

2 thoughts on “Invaded by Melissa Landers

Leave a Reply

