The Sin Eater’s Daughter by Melinda Salisbury

sin eaterGenre: YA Fantasy
Pages: 336
Publisher: Scholastic
Source: Bought
Format: Paperback
Rating: 5 stars
Buy the Book: Waterstones, Amazon, The Book Depository
Goodreads
Blurb:
Seventeen-year-old Twylla lives in the castle. But although she’s engaged to the prince, Twylla isn’t exactly a member of the court.

She’s the executioner.

As the Goddess embodied, Twylla instantly kills anyone she touches. Each month she’s taken to the prison and forced to lay her hands on those accused of treason. No one will ever love a girl with murder in her veins. Even the prince, whose royal blood supposedly makes him immune to Twylla’s fatal touch, avoids her company.

But then a new guard arrives, a boy whose easy smile belies his deadly swordsmanship. And unlike the others, he’s able to look past Twylla’s executioner robes and see the girl, not the Goddess. Yet Twylla’s been promised to the prince, and knows what happens to people who cross the queen.

However, a treasonous secret is the least of Twylla’s problems. The queen has a plan to destroy her enemies, a plan that requires a stomach-churning, unthinkable sacrifice. Will Twylla do what it takes to protect her kingdom? Or will she abandon her duty in favor of a doomed love?


Review:

Before you start reading this review, be aware of one thing; nothing I say in this review will do this book justice. This book completely blew my mind and it is one my favourite books of all time now!

The first 100 or so pages of this book were a bit odd. I wasn’t aware of what was happening but when I really got into this book, I couldn’t stop reading. I couldn’t turn the pages quickly enough. The plot of this book was just superb and that’s why I loved this book so much. The world in this book was complex but you could still understand everything. Usually when reading fantasy books, I forget some things that have been previously mentioned in the novel but not in this one. You learned a lot about this world but there was no info-dumping. It was all intricately threaded into the novel and you learnt it all as it went along. The last 100 pages will shock you as it goes in a completely different direction than anyone could have ever predicted. My mouth was literally hanging open for the entirety of the last 100 pages and I could not stop reading.

The characters in this novel were all exquisite and beautifully developed. Our main character Twylla, really grew throughout the novel and went through a very extensive character development which I loved. She was naive at first and slightly clueless about life. She was focused on trying to live peacefully rather than focusing on what was going on around her. While this could have irritated me, it really didn’t because she realised that she needed to open her eyes to the Queen and her evilness. The Queen in this book made an excellent villain. She was completely and utterly crazy and every little thing she did shocked me because I didn’t know someone could be that crazy. I really enjoyed reading about her though and most of my favourite scenes were the scenes with her in them.

The romance in this book was slightly similar to the romance in Throne of Glass as there was a prince and a guard. However, it was also completely unique because of the situation and the feelings she had for both men. It is another one of those books where I feel people will be split about who they want her to end up with. I feel like the novel set the romance up to go a certain way but I’m really hoping it goes the other way but I wouldn’t mind either way. I loved both guys very muchm

The Sin Eater’s Daughter is a stunning, gripping and beautiful UKYA debut from Melinda Salisbury that will hook you and you will not be able to stop reading. The writing was exquisite, the world was unique, the plot was intriguing and the characters were just fabulously developed. I cannot wait for book 2 but it seems like there may be a long wait for it sadly. So if I haven’t yet convinced you to pick this book up, I don’t know how to. You MUST read this book. Seriously. Stop what you’re doing right now and go read it.

 

9 thoughts on “The Sin Eater’s Daughter by Melinda Salisbury

  1. I’m reading this book just now, but I’m having to limit myself to a chapter a day while I read other books that I need to review first (for blog tours and stuff). I’m hooked already and I’m only 4 chapters in and Melinda is so lovely on Twitter!

    Like

Leave a Reply

