January Wrap Up

So it’s the start of February(well it has been for a couple of days but let’s forget that) so I thought I’d do a January monthly wrap up where I talk about the books I read, the posts that I posted and other exciting things that happened this month. I started off the year by doing this at the end of each week but it was so difficult to keep up with so I thought if I do this at the end of each month/start of the new month then it would be easier to do. So let’s get on to the fun things I did this month.

Books I Read:

jan wrap up

I’m really proud of what I read this month because I enjoyed most of them and I wrote reviews for most of them as well! The books I read this month were:

 

Posts I Posted:

I posted so many posts this month and I’m really proud of that! I don’t know if I can keep it up though but I’ll try. The posts that I posted this month were:

Books I Got:

This month I got quite a few books! I got a lot of books to review, I bought a few and it was also my birthday this month so I got a lot of books for that.

I'm terrible at taking photos, I know!
I’m terrible at taking photos, I know!

The books I received:

  • The Sin Eater’s Daughter – Melinda Salisbury
  • McBusted – Jennifer Parker
  • The Family Project – Jean Paul-Flintoff and Harriet Green(not pictured)
  • Back to Creative Writing School – Bridget Whelan
  • The Red Pyramid – Rick Riordan
  • The Throne of Fire – Rick Riordan
  • The Serpent’s Shadow – Rick Riordan
  • Vanishing Girls – Lauren Oliver
  • A Thousand Pieces of You – Claudia Gray
  • The Bone Season – Samantha Shannon
  • Vendetta – Catherine Doyle
  • Cinder – Marissa Meyer
  • The Rosie Project – Graeme Simsion
  • All the Bright Places – Jennifer Niven
  • The Lie Tree – Frances Hardinge
  • The Book of Storms – Ruth Hatfield
  • Blue – Lisa Glass
  • The Deadly 7 – Garth Jennings
  • Still Falling – Sheena Wilkinson
  • Acid – Emma Pass
  • Butter – Erin Lange
  • A Brighter Fear – Kerry Drewery
  • Geek Girl – Holly Smale
  • Model Misfit – Holly Smale
  • Picture Perfect – Holly Smale
  • Love Rosie – Cecelia Ahern

Watching/Listening To:

This month I binge-watched Dance Academy on Netflix in a week! I absolutely fell in love with this show because it was so addictive and I was really invested in the characters and their lives. I’m sad that I watched it all in a week because now I have a massive Dance Academy shaped hole in my life and it’s sad. This month I have been listening to the McBusted album on repeat as well as My Chance by The White Rhino which is the theme song for Dance Academy.

dance academy

Popsugar 2015 Reading Challenge:

I don’t know if I’m doing this the right way but I’ve been ticking off numerous boxes with one book and I’ve managed to do pretty well this month! The ones that I ticked off are:

  • A book with more than 500 pages(The Bane Chronicles, Love Hurts)
  • A book published this year(Love Hurts,All The Bright Places, The Boy Next Door, Perfect Couple)
  • A book written by someone under 30( All the Bright Places, The Boy Next Door and maybe some of the others but I’m not sure)
  • A book with nonhuman characters( The Bane Chronicles)
  • A funny book( Geek Girl)
  • A book by a female author(The Kiss of Deception, The Bane Chronicles, Geek Girl, Love Hurts, All the Bright Places, The Boy Next Door, McBusted, Perfect Couple, Acid)
  • A book with a one-word title(Acid)
  • A book of short stories(The Bane Chronicles, Love Hurts)
  • A book set in a different country(The Bane Chronicles, All the Bright Places, The Boy Next Door, Perfect Couple)
  • A non-fiction book(McBusted)
  • A popular author’s first book(Acid)
  • A book from an author you love that you haven’t read yet(The Bane Chronicles, Love Hurts, Perfect Couple)
  • A book a friend recommended(Geek Girl, Acid)
  • A book based on a true story(McBusted)
  • A book at the bottom of your TBR(Geek Girl, Acid)
  • A book based entirely on its cover(The Boy Next Door)
  • A book you can finish in a day(Geek Girl, Perfect Couple)
  • A book set somewhere you’ve always wanted to visit(The Bane Chronicles, All the Bright Places)
  • A book with bad reviews(The Boy Next Door, Perfect Couple)
  • A book with a love triangle(The Kiss of Deception)
  • A book set in the future(Acid)
  • A book set in high school(Geek Girl, All the Bright Places, The Boy Next Door, Perfect Couple)
  • A book that made you cry(All the Bright Places)
  • A book with magic(The Bane Chronicles)
  • A book by an author you’ve never read before(The Kiss of Deception, Geek Girl, Love Hurts, All the Bright Places, The Boy Next Door, McBusted, Acid)
  • A book you own but have never read(Geek Girl, The Kiss of Deception)
  • A book that takes place in your hometown(Geek Girl)
  • A book you started but never finished(The Bane Chronicles, Love Hurts)

That means I have ticked off 28 things on my list which means I only have 22 left to do!

Favourites Of The Month:

Favourite Book: 

All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

Favourite TV Show:

Dance Academy

Favourite Song:

Bubblewrap – McFly

Favourite Movie:

Into The Woods(it was the only film I watched this month).

Favourite Thing That Happened:

My birthday weekend because it was amazing.

I really loved this month as a whole and I did some really amazing things. I can’t wait to see what the rest of the year brings. What was your favourite book of this month? What did you do this month? Let me know down in the comments.

 

6 thoughts on “January Wrap Up

  1. I used to watch Dance Academy ALL THE TIME. It’s so good! Into the Woods was amazing and it was the only movie I watched too, hehe! I love this post, so enjoyable to read!

    Like

  2. That’s an excellent book haul! All the Bright Places, The Bone Season, Cinder, and The Sin Eater’s Daughter are all in my TBR right now. I read The Deadly 7 during January, it was a fantastic book! Happy belated birthday! You’ve had a very productive January 🙂

    My favourite books that I read in January were Stonebird by Mike Revell and Bloodlines by Vanessa Skye. Stonebird is a stunning debut, really beautiful. Bloodlines was the last in a crime/thriller trilogy that I’d been reading and it just blew me away! My biggest achievement for January was reading 21 books during the month though, I didn’t think it would be possible for me to do that!

    Like

Leave a Reply

