Acid by Emma Pass

AcidGenre: YA Dystopian
Pages: 431
Publisher: Corgi
Source: Bought
Format: Paperback
Rating: 5 stars
Buy the Book: Waterstones, Amazon, The Book Depository
Goodreads
Blurb:
The year is 2113. In Jenna Strong’s world, ACID—the most brutal controlling police force in history—rule supreme. No throwaway comment or whispered dissent goes unnoticed—or unpunished. And it was ACID agents who locked Jenna away for life, for a horrendous crime she struggles to remember. But Jenna’s violent prison time has taught her how to survive by any means necessary.

When a mysterious rebel group breaks her out, she must use her strength, speed, and skill to stay one step ahead of ACID, and try to uncover the truth about what really happened on that terrible night two years ago. They have taken her life, her freedom, and her true memories away from her. How can she reclaim anything when she doesn’t know who to trust?

Review:
I absolutely loved this book. After purchasing this book, I immediately picked this book up because I have been very excited for this book and I was so happy to finally get my hands on it. This book sounded like an amazing, fast-paced dystopian read and that is exactly what it was.

Jenna Strong was the main reason that  I loved this book. She was a strong fierce character even though she has been through some pretty terrible things in her life. Most characters who have gone through what she went through usually just sit around and whine about how sad their life is but not Jenna. She fought for what she believed in and she kept fighting no matter what. I feel like she might now be one of my favourite female protagonists.

The plot of this book was really intriguing and incredibly fast paced. At times, it was so fast paced that I felt like I had missed so much of it and I had to reread it. The plot changes a lot as it goes on so sometimes it was hard to keep up but because it was so interesting, you are still hooked and you want to know what happens. I loved all parts of the novel as they all brought something new to the story.

The writing in this book was beautiful and suited the story. The writing wasn’t poetic like some dystopian books but it was strong and to the point which I really loved because it was perfect for the story. The romance in this story was slightly odd because I didn’t see where the attraction came from but I still really enjoyed it. I would have enjoyed it more if there had been more scenes with just them two where they showed how much they meant to each other but the plot didn’t allow time for that. The ending of this book was ambiguous and it definitely left space for a possible sequel so I’m really hoping there is one but it could also work as a standalone.

I loved this book a lot because the whole book was amazing and just all around fabulous. I don’t know if I have convinced you to read this book but if I haven’t then I’m going to tell you now to read this book. It is a perfect dystopian standalone that more people need to read. We don’t get many dystopian standalones and it is a very bare market but this one was amazing and definitely fills that market.  So if you haven’t already go pick up Acid because it is a unique, enthralling story that will just capture you straight away.

4 thoughts on “Acid by Emma Pass

Leave a Reply

