Love Hurts edited by Malorie Blackman

love hurtsGenre: YA contemporary
Pages: 576
Publisher: Corgi Childrens
Source: Netgalley
Format: E-book
Rating: 3 stars
Buy the book: Waterstones, Amazon, The Book Depository
Goodreads
Blurb:
Malorie Blackman brings together the best teen writers of today in a stunningly romantic collection about love against the odds. Featuring short stories and extracts about modern star-crossed lovers from stars such as Gayle Forman, Markus Zusak and Patrick Ness, and with a brand-new story from Malorie Blackman herself, Love Hurts looks at every kind of relationship, from first kiss to final heartbreak.

Review:
As this is a book of short stories and extracts, I will be approaching my review similarly to the way that I approached my review for My True Love Gave to Me and I will be reviewing each story/extract seperately and then giving my overall opinion of the book. However, as there are 24 stories/extracts, each review will only be a few lines or maybe even one. I couldn’t think of a better way to organise my reviews.

Humming Through My Fingers – Malorie Blackman:

I absolutely loved and adored this story because it was just sweet. The characters seemed real and I would have loved to have read a whole book about them.

Extract from More Than This – Patrick Ness:

This was odd and unusual. I’ve never read a Patrick Ness book before but I’ve always been intrigued to. He’s never been well known for the romance in his books and I honestly didn’t like this extract that much, probably because I was just confused.

Extract from The Infinite Moment of Us – Lauren Myracle:

Okay, I did not like this extract. I don’t know why but I just didn’t like the romance and I didn’t think it was realistic at all.

Extract from If I Stay – Gayle Forman:

I loved this extract! I have already read this whole novel but I reread the extract anyway and it was amazing. The reason I loved it so much was probably because I’d already read the whole novel.

Tumbling – Susie Day:

This story was just amazing, cute and adorable. I loved the fact that it was tumblr based as well as Sherlock based! I also loved the fact that it was LGBT because there just aren’t enough LGBT stories out there!

Extract from Trouble – Non Pratt:

I actually really enjoyed this extract even though I wasn’t expecting to. I was never really that interested in reading this book when it first came out because I’m not a big fan of pregnancy stories however this extract was amazing and I really do want to read the whole novel now.

Extract from Rani and Sukh – Bali Rai:

I did not enjoy this at all. I’m not a big fan of Romeo and Juliet so really anything based off of it, I don’t generally like. I didn’t particularly enjoy the characters and I was interested in the plot.

Extract from You Against Me – Jenny Downham:

I really enjoyed this one even though I’d never heard of the book before. The plot was so intriguing and I really want to read the rest of the novel to see what happens and also to see how the romance ensues.

Extract from 13 Little Blue Envelopes – Maureen Johnson:

Hmm, this one I didn’t really have that much of an opinion on. It was alright but I felt like I was missing something(obviously I was!) but I felt like the extract wasn’t good enough for me to be intrigued.

Extract from Junk by Melvin Burgess:

I really did not enjoy this one at all. I found the romance to be incredibly cheesy and just bleurgh. I don’t think I’ll be picking up the novel.

Extract from Noughts and Crosses – Malorie Blackman:

OMG I LOVED THIS EXTRACT! I have never read the Noughts and Crosses series by Malorie Blackman(despite being a massive fan of the rest of her novels) but this extract really got me interested in finally picking it up. I’ll probably be picking it up soon actually.

Gentlewoman – Laura Dockrill:

I really enjoyed this one. I didn’t feel like it was rushed and the romance wasn’t too much. I loved the LGBT aspect of it as well and just generally the whole story was great.

Extract from Heroic – Phil Earle:

I really enjoyed this extract. I’ve never ever heard of this book or author before but this extract was great. I feel like a perfect moment was picked as an extract because it wasn’t an overload of romance yet it made you feel like you rooted for the characters and you wanted to read the rest of the book to find out what happens! Hopefully I will be getting my hands on this book soon.

Miss Lucy Had A Steamboat – David Levithan:

I really enjoyed this story. I haven’t read much of David Levithan’s work but I do like his writing so I really enjoyed reading more of his work. This story had a great romance and didn’t focus entirely on the LGBT aspect of it as most LGBT books do(well the ones I’ve read anyway). I really enjoyed the ending of the story and it had some great quotes in it.

Extract from I Am The Messenger – Markus Zusak:

Hmm, I’m not sure how I feel about this one. It was interesting but incredibly confusing because I didn’t know what was happening. However, it did make me want to read the original book.

Extract from Grasshopper Jungle – Andrew Smith:

This one was really interesting. I’ve never read anything by Andrew Smith but I really enjoyed reading this extract. I do now want to read this book so hopefully I’ll get round to it soon.

Extract from Echo Boy – Matt Haig:

This one was completely amazing! I loved the storyline and I really really need to read the book now so I can find out what happens after. I’m dying to read it now.

Extract from Forbidden – Tabitha Suzuma:

Okay I must admit, I could not read this one. I got about halfway through but I couldn’t do it anymore. I have never wanted to read this book because of what it’s about. It made me feel incredibly uncomfortable and I just did not enjoy it.

Endless Love: The Valentine of Daniel and Lucinda – Lauren Kate:

This was an odd story. I feel like I would have enjoyed it a lot more if I had read Fallen since it is a Fallen short story but I just found it to be mediocre. I didn’t feel anything towards it really.

Extract from Midwinterblood – Marcus Sedgwick:

I found this one extremely interesting. The plot was intriguing and I want to read the book to find out what was going on. Definitely another book for my evergrowing TBR.

The Liar’s Girl – Catherine Johnson:

This one was quite unique. At first, I was just incredibly confused but as the story went on, I was so shocked. The ending was amazing thought but I want more. It wasn’t long enough for me.

The Unicorn – James Dawson:

This story was amazing! I have never read anything by James Dawson(shocker, I know!) but I will definitely be picking up his other books soon because I really enjoyed this one. It was so different and unique that I just fell in love with it.

Extract from Northern Lights – Phillip Pullman:

This extract was just short and confusing though I would like to pick up this series.

Extract from We Were Liars – E. Lockhart:

As I have already read this book and I didn’t enjoy it that much, I decided not to read this extract.

So that’s it for my review of Love Hurts. Some stories/extracts I loved, whereas some I didn’t but generally it was an okay collection. It wasn’t as amazing as I hoped it would be but that’s probably because my expectations were quite high. I’ve realised that I am not a big fan of short story anthologies because the stories need to be longer! However some of these stories were amazing!If this sounds like a book you’d enjoy, definitely pick it up because some of the stories/extracts really are fabulous. I was expecting it to be mainly short stories but I was disappointed to find out that most of them were extracts but if you’re interested, pick it up.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Love Hurts edited by Malorie Blackman

Leave a Reply

