The Boy Next Door by Katie Van Ark

the boy next doorGenre: YA Romance
Pages: 368
Publisher: Swoon Reads
Source: Bought
Format: Kindle
Rating: 2 stars
Buy the book: Waterstones, Amazon, The Book Depository
Goodreads
Blurb:
Maddy Spier has been in love with the boy next door forever. As his figure skating partner she spends time in his arms every day. But she’s also seen his arms around other girls—lots of other girls.

Gabe can’t imagine skating with anyone but Maddy, and together they have a real chance at winning some serious gold medals. So, he’s determined to keep thinking of her like a sister. After all, he’s never had a romantic relationship that lasted for more than two weeks.

But when their coach assigns a new romantic skating program, everything changes. Will this be the big break that Maddy’s been hoping for or the big breakup that Gabe has always feared?


Review:

I was so excited to read this book. It was one of my most anticipated releases of the year and I kept tweeting about how I wanted it. I tried so hard to love this book,  I really did but I just couldn’t do it. I did not like this book at all. But let me say the good parts first before I start ranting about it.

I really enjoyed the female lead, Maddy. At times she was very irritating but generally she was great. She understood what she wanted and she was determined to get it. I also really enjoyed reading about their friends; Chris and Kate. I would have liked to have seen more about them. In fact, I would have preferred it if the whole book was about them. I also loved the ice skating aspect of it. I loved reading about the different moves and I wish we saw more about ice skating.

Okay let’s get on to my main issue with the novel(the other issues were minor things that I could get over) and that was Gabe, the main guy. *shudder* I did not like him at all. He was just obsessed with having sex and there was no sign throughout this whole novel that he actually cared about Maddy. It was just so irritating and annoying because he clearly was a player who didn’t really care. Due to him being a bit of an idiot, the pacing in this book was off. I felt like the book should have started with them being friends and then developing a crush but no it started with the crush and it just didn’t work at all. I didn’t want them to get together because it felt forced. There were no cute aww moments that made me ship them. It just didn’t work as a romance novel, at all. If this book was about the lives of ice skaters, it would have been so much better but the romance aspect just sucked. I thought I was going to love this book and maybe the reason I’m not as big of a fan is because I had high expectations but I just did not like it all. Talking about pacing, everything ever moved too fast or too slow and somethings just weren’t explained well enough.

One thing I do have to say about this book was that the writing was great. But other than that, I just didn’t like it so I have to give it 2 out of 5 stars. I could rant about this book for a while but I’d rather not. A lot of people have loved this book though so if it sounds like a book you’d enjoy then definitely go pick it up.

 

 

Pacing

2 thoughts on “The Boy Next Door by Katie Van Ark

Leave a Reply

