Billy and Me by Giovanna Fletcher

Genre: Chick Litbilly and me
Pages: 416
Publisher: Penguin
Source: Kindle
Format: E-book
Rating: 4 stars
Buy the book: Waterstones, Amazon, The Book Depository
Goodreads
Blurb:
Sophie May has a secret.

One that she’s successfully kept for years. It’s meant that she’s had to
give up her dreams of going to university and travelling the world to stay
in her little village, living with her mum and working in the local teashop.

But then she meets the gorgeous Billy – an actor with ambitions to make
it to the top. And when they fall in love, Sophie is whisked away from the
comfort of her life into Billy’s glamorous – but ruthless – world.

Their relationship throws Sophie right into the spotlight after years of
shying away from attention. Can she handle the constant scrutiny that
comes with being with Billy? And most of all, is she ready for her secret
heartbreak to be discovered and shared with the nation?

Review:

After being a big fan of Giovanna Fletcher as a person, I wanted to read one of her books so I decided to start off with her first book and I’m so happy I did. This book was exactly I wanted it to be; enjoyable, charming and funny. The writing is similar in style to Sophie Kinsella, who I am also a fan of. The book as a whole was really quite similar to Sophie Kinsella’s books but it had its own quirks as well.

Sophie May was a really interesting main character because my opinion of her changed throughout the book. I loved her at the start, towards the middle I wasn’t that big of a fan but then at the end I loved her yet again. She is an incredibly insecure person who has quite a few issues that she hasn’t dealt with and this came across in her actions. When her and Billy were together, she was constantly worrying about not fitting in and honestly I can say that at points in this book, I completely understood why she was acting the way she was even though I didn’t like what she was doing. I felt like Sophie was accurately portraying how someone feels when they are thrown into a world like Sophie was thrown into through her thoughts but how she acted on how she felt was quite irritating. She acted rashly at times and I did find her quite annoying but towards the end, I loved her once again. Billy himself, I don’t have much of an opinion on him. I found him to be charming and adorable at the start but as the book progesses, I found him quite annoying and I did not like him at all. I understand that he was meant to change and that’s what caused Sophie to act the way that she did but even at the end, I just couldn’t like him again.

The story in this book was great but I did have one tiny issue with it. Billy and Sophie get together quite early on so that the book can progress and we could see the characters progress and change however I felt that the love was slightly insta-lovey. I loved seeing them flirting and getting closer but as soon as they went on that first date, everything just flew by and they were moving in together and it was just too fast. I would have loved to see their relationship in the village for a little bit longer.

I loved the ending of this book but I would have liked a little bit more. But it’s okay because I know there is a novella called Christmas with Billy and Me and I can’t wait to read it, though I may have to wait until next Christmas or I may just end up reading it in the middle of January because I don’t know if I can wait a year to read it.

So overall I loved this book and I only had minor issues with it so I gave it 4 out of 5 stars. I will definitely be reading Gi’s other books because I love and adore her and her writing. I strongly recommend this book especially if you like Sophie Kinsella’s books. This isn’t a book that everyone likes because it has a very specific audience in mind but I hope you’ll love it too.

I had to include an adorable gif of Giovanna Fletcher and her husband Tom because they are the ultimate relationship goal.
I had to include an adorable gif of Giovanna Fletcher and her husband Tom because they are the ultimate relationship goal.
3 thoughts on “Billy and Me by Giovanna Fletcher

Leave a Reply

