Top 14 books of 2014

It’s the end of the year so obviously I will need to talk about my favourite books of 2014. I’m going to do a top 14 of 2014 because why not? As I am writing this, it is currently 16th December so I may end up reading more books and these could possibly become a favourite book of mine but hey I feel like doing this list now so I am going to. This list will go from 14 to 1 starting with my least favourite of the 14 books and finishing up with my favourite book of the year. Just know that I definitely recommend all these books and you should definitely go read them.

14. Pivot Point – Kasie West:

I read this whole book on a coach ride back from Wales and I was ridiculously obsessed. This book has an intense plot that is incredibly intriguing. I was constantly thinking about what she’d pick and what would happen. I could not predict what happened and I loved that. Due to me reading a lot, I am generally able to predict a lot of plot twists but I could not predict this one. I loved seeing the two different worlds and seeing them happen at the same time. The main character is incredibly smart and she’s constantly thinking about others rather than what would make her happy, especially at the end. This book had everything I could ever want in it.

13. Talented saga – Sophie Davis:

I couldn’t pick which one out of this series to put on this list so I’m putting this whole series on this list. This is a series that isn’t well known but it’s amazing. It’s a dystopian romance that was intense, intriguing and definitely romantic. I loved all the characters and I loved the way they acted around each other. I wrote a whole post about this series, so click here to go read it. I also did an interview with Sophie Davis so click here to go read that.If you live in the US, go drive to your local shop and pick up a copy! If you don’t live in the US, download it onto your phone now!

12. Solitaire – Alice Oseman:

I was incredibly hyped for this book and it didn’t disappoint! Alice Oseman wrote an amazing debut novel that is incredibly relatable. I had such strong feelings for this book and I love it so dearly. It means so much to me because it taught me a lot. I wrote a whole review on it so click here to go read it. I also met Alice Oseman so if you want to read my recount of that event. click here. Read this book! Especially if you live in the UK and definitely read it if you go to an all girls grammar school.

11. A Grimm Warning – Chris Colfer:

I am a fan of Chris Colfer and his writing is just amazing and superb! This is the third book in the Land of Stories series which is a middle grade fairy tale retelling series that I love and adore. This is probably my favourite in the series because it was full of action and adventure. The ending was shocking and so unpredictable! I definitely recommend this series to everyone. Not enough people have read this series and it does not get the love it deserves. Click here if you want to go read my review of it.

10. My True Love Gave To Me – Various authors:

I have raved about this book a lot over the last couple of weeks because I love it! While I didn’t love all of the stories, the ones that I did love, I loved completely! I was constantly happy and smiling throughout the stories. It was the ultimate happy book that you read to cheer you up. I wrote an incredibly lengthy review of this book so definitely click here to go read it.

9. Landline – Rainbow Rowell:

Did you really think I wouldn’t include a Rainbow Rowell book in this list? This is the only Rainbow Rowell full length novel that I read for the first time this year and I loved it so dearly. I have got to say it’s probably my 3rd favourite of her books in total but it is still amazing. The characters were incredibly entertaining and the plot was quite unique. It felt familiar to me despite the fact that nothing like that had ever happened to me. This is why I love Rainbow Rowell because I feel like I can relate to every single person in her books despite the fact that I’m usually nothing like them. I wrote a whole review of this book so click here to read that review.

8. A Little Something Different – Sandy Hall:

This was an adorable romance that I got completely obsessed with. I read this whole book in one day because I just couldn’t put it down. I was utterly and completely obsessed and I really wanted to know what would happen next. I wrote a whole book review on this book as well, so click here to go read that.

7. To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before – Jenny Han:

This book was another adorable romance that I got obsessed with. I could not stop thinking about this book for weeks because I just had so many thoughts about it. The main characters were funny and realistic. They weren’t perfect but they weren’t annoying either. There is a love triangle in this book and despite the fact that it was probably very obvious, I did not predict who she ended up with. The book was funny and entertaining.

6. Heir of Fire/ The Assassin’s Blade – Sarah J. Maas:

I had to include both of the new Sarah J Maas books in this list so I just grouped them together so that I could include more fabulous books in this list. I realised that I haven’t really talked about the Throne of Glass series on this blog much which is slightly shocking considering the fact that it is probably my favourite series of all time. I loved both of the books that came out this year for various reasons. The Assassin’s Blade was so heartbreaking and full of adventure. I loved it. Heir of Fire was slow yet so incredibly amazing. I loved these books because the characters were all amazing such as Dorian, Rowan(Ridiculously obsessed with Rowan right now), Sam and obviously Celaena who is basically the most badass protagonist ever.

5. Ignite Me – Tahereh Mafi:

When I was making this list, I completely forgot this book because I feel like I read it ages ago but it was actually only February of this year! I feel like it was so long ago but I remember completely loving it. This was definitely my favourite of the trilogy because the characters were so much more developed and the plot line was amazing. Also Warner, my baby, was amazing in this book. People finally learnt why I loved him when they read this book.

4. Rites of Passage – Joy N. Hensley:

This book was one that I was incredibly excited about when I first heard about it. It was something completely different and unique that intrigued me straight away. I loved this book because the protagonist was amazing, the romance was beautiful, the characters were intriguing and the plot was just mind blowing. I was completely blown away by this book and this definitely came across in my review, so click here if you want to go read that.

3. Alienated – Melissa Landers:

Anybody who actually knows me will know that I have raved about this book so much since August. I am completely and utterly obsessed with this book and I honestly can’t wait for the next one. I loved the characters, the romance, the plot and basically everything about this book! I wrote a whole review where I completely raved about how perfect it was so definitely click here if you want to know more about why I love this book so much.

2. Isla and the Happily Ever After – Stephanie Perkins:

I absolutely loved Isla so much and it was probably my favourite of the whole series. I read this book quite quickly because even though I told myself that I would take my time reading it, I could not stop thinking about what was happening and I needed to carry on reading. I loved Isla as a character because she was definitely different as a protagonist. I felt like I relate to her because I thought we were slightly similar. I loved Josh as well and I loved seeing their romance. This book was set over three different cities which was really interesting to read about. I wrote a whole book review on this book so click here to go read that.

1. Silver Shadows – Richelle Mead:

Are you surprised? I’m surprised about the fact that this is number 1 but I’m also not because this book was so completely perfect. I love this series as a whole but this is definitely my favourite out of the whole series. So much happens in this book so I was constantly thinking about what was happening. We got to see the characters develop more and it’s crazy to think about how much the characters have developed. I’m slightly scared for the last book in this series but I’m sure it’s going to be amazing! I also wrote a whole fangirly review on this book so click here to go read that.

So that’s my top 14 books of 2014 so far. I completely loved all of the books on this list so I definitely think you should go check them out. I hope you enjoyed this post. Comment down below and tell me what you favourite book of 2014 was! I’ll see you soon with another post.

This whole year was incredible for reading!
This whole year was incredible for reading!

Sofia

 

 

3 thoughts on “Top 14 books of 2014

Leave a Reply

