Wrapping Up 2014: 2014 Reading Resolutions

Hey! I thought for today’s wrapping up 2014 post, I’d talk about the reading resolutions I set for myself at the start of this year and talk about how well I did. This post will probably be quite short but meh let’s go.

My 2014 reading resolutions were:

  • Read 50 books
  • Start reading a classic
  • Start reading A Game of Thrones
  • Read a Neil Gaiman book
  • Read an adult book
  •  Start to Re-read the whole Harry Potter series(Re-read the first three)
  • Start reading Lord of The Rings or The Hobbit
  • Read an Autobiography

My first goal was to read 50 books this year and I’ve already surpassed that. I am currently on my 89th book for this year and hopefully I will get to 90 books which is great. Last year I read 101 books but this year I decided to slow down and savour all the books I read.

My second goal was to start reading a classic. I started reading The Great Gatsby earlier this year but I just couldn’t get through it(and I was spoiled!) however I did read Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck this year. It was a required school reading book but it’s still a classic so it counts. I also really enjoyed it.

My next goal was to start reading A Game of Thrones and I actually did! In April this year, I decided to start reading it. I only got about 50 pages into it but hey I started it.I’m not sure if I ever will finish it. Maybe one day I might.

My next one was to read a Neil Gaiman book and I also did this. I read The Truth Is A Cave In The Black Mountains which I believe is classed as a graphic novel and it was really short but the story was written by Neil Gaiman. I didn’t like it that much but I will give Gaiman a second chance to impress me next year hopefully.

The next goal I set for myself was to read an adult book and I have read some this year. I read 2 Sophie Kinsella books this year as well as Landline by Rainbow Rowell and Ready Player One by Ernest Cline so I think it’s safe to say I did this.

The next goal was to at least re-read the first three Harry Potter books and this I did not do. I re-read the first one earlier this year and I got half way through the second one but then I got distracted by other books and never picked it back up again. 😦

My next goal was to start reading either Lord of The Rings or The Hobbit and over the summer, I did start reading The Hobbit and I got almost half way through it. However, I put it down but I think after I see the final Hobbit movie I will possibly pick it up again.

The final goal was to read an autobiography. I read Lea Michele’s book Brunette Ambition this year and that was sort of an autobiography/self help book so I’m sure that counts. I’m currently reading Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me and Other Concerns by Mandy Kaling and I will probably finish it by the end of the year.

I think my reading resolutions for this year were successful because I achieved most of them and I’m quite proud of myself for that.

4 thoughts on “Wrapping Up 2014: 2014 Reading Resolutions

Leave a Reply

