November Wrap Up

It’s the end of the month(well not really but almost) so that means that I have to wrap up the month. This month I finished 8 full length novels and I’m quite proud of myself for that because for the next two weeks, I will be sitting my mock exams so I have been busy revising this month. So let’s start talking about the books I read this month.

The first book I finished this month was Just Like The Movies by Kelly Fiore. This was a cute romance book that was just sweet and adorable. It follows two girls who work together to make their romances similar to the ones in the movies. I much prefered Lily as a character to Marijke. I also wasn’t a big fan of Marijke’s romance. I thought it was just quite annoying and I didn’t see why Tommy was with her. I ended up giving this book 3 out of 5 stars and I remember writing a review for it, yet I can’t find this review anywhere!

The next book I read was the long awaited final book in the Mara Dyer trilogy by Michelle Hodkin, The Retribution of Mara Dyer. I thought this book was great despite the fact that not a lot of people liked it. I read the first two books in this trilogy around this time last year and while this book is my least favourite in the trilogy, I loved it nonetheless. We get to see Mara really develop more as a character and we get to see her interact with others aside from Noah. My only complaint about this book was the way it all wrapped up. I feel like the ending really didn’t solve anything. There are still a lot of problems and quite a few things still need to be solved, in my opinion. However, I still really loved this book so I gave it 5 out of 5 stars.

The next book I read this month was a book that my friend has been trying to get me to read for years but I only just got round to it and that was The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E.Smith. I have read her other two novels before and I do enjoy her books. This is probably her shortest book and it took me one night to read. It was an adorable romance story but not much else happens in it. It was just a cute romance however I did enjoy it so I gave it 4 out of 5 stars.

This month I finally started the Hush Hush series by Becca Fitzpatrick. I read the first two books in this series which are Hush Hush and Crescendo. I have been putting off these books for years because of the mixed feelings people have towards them however I did enjoy them. There is a term that I used when reading these books to describe them and that term was enjoyable trash. The plot itself wasn’t the best and it was quite annoying but I enjoyed reading it. I gave both of them  3 out of 5 stars. I don’t know when I’ll be carrying on with the series. I only really read the first two because I met Becca Fitzpatrick.

Our photo with Becca who was fabulous
Our photo with Becca who was fabulous

Talking about enjoyable trash, I also read the first two books in the Sweet trilogy by Wendy Higgins, Sweet Evil and Sweet Peril. I feel the same way about these books than I did with the Hush Hush books. However, despite the fact that the main character Anna is even more annoying than Nora from the Hush Hush series(which is a hard thing to do) I enjoy these books more because the actual plot line is really interesting. However, the romance kind of takes over and that can get really annoying. I gave both of these 3 out of 5 stars and I’m currently reading the final book in this trilogy.

The final book I read this month was I Was Here by Gayle Forman. This book comes out in January but I was lucky enough to get a proof copy from the lovely people at YABirmingham so thank you very much! I really loved and adored this book but I’m not going to say that much about how I felt about this book because I have written a whole review on it but I will be posting that sometime near the release date so it’s fresh on your mind when it comes out. Just know that you guys should be excited for this book because I loved it. I gave it a 5 out of 5 stars.

So that’s it for all the books I read this month. I know that I haven’t been posting much recently and it’s because I’ve been feeling quite down about things in my life and also because I have my mock exams for the next two weeks. I don’t know when I’ll get back into posting again but hopefully it shall be sometimes soon. As always, thanks for reading and I hope you liked this post.

Sofia.

Leave a Reply

