Why Waterstones Birmingham is the Best Bookshop in the World

Today I shall be making a post about why Waterstones High Street in Birmingham is quite clearly the best bookshop in the world. It’s clear that I may be a little bit biased but I can’t help but talk highly about this shop! Now I’m going to take you on a journey back to the 6th August last summer.

This is the day that my love for Waterstones Birmingham grew. Now let me just say first that I have been going to this shop for quite a while and it is where I buy most of my books however on the 6th August this shop became more than just a shop. This was the day that they announced that they were going to have a City of Bones fan party and I called up immediately and bought some tickets for me and my friends. It may be weird that I remember the exact day that I ordered them but that’s only because it was my cousin’s birthday. Now let’s skip forward a little bit to the 23rd August, the day of the fan party. Having watched the film two days earlier, me and my friends were very pumped and excited to go to this party. We’d never been to a fan party before and we were excited. However I was also incredibly nervous. Anyone who knows me will know that I’m usually an incredibly socially awkward person. So I was worried at the prospect of partying. However, when we finally arrvied all of my nervousness just disappeared(slightly) because it was just so much fun. We got to meet a lot of other fans and it was just a lot of fun. There was a quiz(which we completely failed at), a raffle as well as a special offer on all teen books!We got dressed up in shadowhunter gear and had so much fun. It was such a great party and I knew that I would always remember that day. We went home on a big high from such a great event.

1175266_571474719564824_623586320_n

Now let’s skip forward a few months to April 2014 when they held their second fan party which was for Divergent. This whole day was great but the party was again ridiculously fun. We failed at the quiz again but we still had so much fun meeting everyone and talking to so many people that we had things in common with. After this in May they had their City of Heavenly Fire fan party which was probably their smallest party but it was still ridiculously fun. At this point as well, they had launched their own twitter account as well as their own blog(YABirmingham) and I had become a reviewer for them! Which means that they helped me make my dream of reviewing books come true and they’ve made me more confident with my own talents as well. For the next month, I grew close to some of the booksellers there, mainly Bex and Gem, who are main organisers behind the events(we love you guys!) and as well as this, I was started to get noticed in the shop by the other booksellers. Whenever I go in now, I always have a conversation with the booksellers, not just Bex and Gem, but also the other booksellers who aren’t involved with the fan parties!  All members of the staff at Waterstones Birmingham are kind and helpful and they are always lively and asking you about your lives.

Now in June 2014, we attended The Fault In Our Stars fan party but I won’t talk about this one that much as I wrote a whole post about it so click here to go see it. In July we attended the Solitaire Launch party which I also wrote a whole post about so click here to read that. They also held many events over the summer, none of which I was able to attend, but they all looked like so much fun! I was able to go to their Isla readalong which was so much fun! I went to their book club for The Maze Runner on Friday and that was also ridiculously fun and entertaining!  They are having their Maze Runner fan party next week as well as a number of upcoming events with authors and I can’t wait!

But let’s finish this post with a summary about why I love this particular Waterstones is the best bookshop in the world:

  • All the staff are really kind and they will help you with any problems
  • They go above and beyond for their customers
  • They want their customers to be happy
  • They hold fabulous fan parties
  • They know what we want and they help us
  • They’ve made me more confident as a whole
  • They’ve made a place for all us booknerds
  • They genuinely care about you

So that’s why I love this shop and you should definitely go check them out.

I LOVE YOU GUYS!
I LOVE YOU GUYS!

Their blog

Their upcoming events

Their Twitter(Waterstones Birmingham)

Their Twitter(YABirmingham)

I hope you enjoyed this post and I’ll see you soon with a new one!

Sofia

3 thoughts on “Why Waterstones Birmingham is the Best Bookshop in the World

  1. Aaaah you’re so lucky you live near there, I have to travel to London if I want to go events and it’s nearly and hour away and so expensive 😦 next time I visit Birmingham I’ll definitely pop in though

    Like

Leave a Reply

