September Book Haul

So we’re near the end of September and I’m pretty sure that I won’t buy any more books this month so I’m here today bringing you my September book haul. I thought I didn’t get that many books this month but I ended up getting 9 physical books. I got two books that I won in a giveaway, I got 1 book for review and I bought 6(even though I told myself I’d only buy two).

The first book I technically received at the end of August but because I was on holiday, I didn’t actually open the package until September and that book was Tape by Steven Camden. I won this in a giveaway on twitter at the beginning of August but because it was being held by Harper360, I had to wait for them to send it from America but it finally came and I’m so excited to read it. It sounds odd yet amazing and I want to read it soon but I don’t know when I will be able to read it. So thank you to Harper360 for sending me this book. The other book that I won this month was Afterworlds by Scott Westerfeld. I opened the package and I spent about an hour trying to figure out where it came from but then I remembered that I had entered a giveaway for it a while ago and somehow I had won. I actually got this book on netgalley and I started reading it around June/July but I just couldn’t get through it. It wasn’t boring or anything, I just wasn’t in the mood for it. However now that I actually own the book, I might pick it up again soon since it is highly recommended.

The book I got for review this month was A Little Something Different by Sandy Hall. I got this from the lovely people over at YABirmingham, so thank you very much! I’ve already devoured this book and it was fabulous. It was so great and you guys should definitely go pick it up because it’s such a unique romance story. This is actually the first book to be published by SwoonReads which is an amazing website where you can read various manuscripts and vote on which ones you want to get published. You can also upload your manuscript onto the site and have it reviewed and maybe even considered to be published one day so you should all definitely go check their site out. I also wrote a review for A Little Something Different so if you want to read it, click here.

So earlier this month, I went to ASDA with my mum and of course, I had to go to the book section. While the book section is limited there, they do have a lot of very popular books at great prices. The first one I found was If I Stay by Gayle Forman. I’ve been looking for this book at a cheap price for such a long time because I absolutely adored the book. I also wanted the movie cover because the movie cover is beautiful so when I saw it in ASDA for ridiculously cheap, I had to buy it. While I was there I also saw The Iron Trial by Holly Black and Cassandra Clare. Now I own all of Cassandra Clare’s books and I did want to buy this book but I was a bit hesitant. However, when I saw it in ASDA for a relatively cheap price I decided to just go for it and buy it. Hopefully, I’ll read it soon and I’ll like it.

I then went shopping with my family later on in the month and I went out to buy one book and that was Heir of Fire by Sarah J Maas. I  got this on my kindle on the day it came out and I read it but I had to buy the physical book. I own the rest of the series and I just needed to get the third one. Heir of Fire was my favourite book out of one of my favourite series’ so of course I had to own it. It is also stunningly beautiful. The UK editions are stunning and I applaud the cover designers. If they ever re-do the covers, I may just have to hunt them down. Of course I didn’t end up coming home with just one book. I saw The Death Cure by James Dashner in WHSmith and while this wasn’t one of my favourite books, I  had to buy it there and then because within the last year, they’ve re-done the UK covers for The Maze Runner trilogy and I had the first two in the original cover design but I was really struggling to find the last one in the same cover design. So when I saw it, I couldn’t pass it up because it might not be there ever again. The book was also on buy one get one for £1 so I had to buy another book, of course. I ended up picking up The Jewel by Amy Ewing because everyone is raving about this book and it sounds amazing. I’m hoping to read it sometime soon.

The final book I bought this month was The Infinite Sea by Rick Yancey. I again downloaded this on my kindle the day of its release but I had to buy the physical book at the next available chance I had. While I didn’t love the book as much as I loved The Fifth Wave, it was still interesting so I did want to own my own copy of it.

That’s all the books I got this month and I think I won’t be getting as much in October. I’ll see you soon with another post.

Sofia

Leave a Reply

