Rites of Passage by Joy N Hensley

Now after finishing The Infinite Sea(which shall not be getting its own review because I don’t even know how I felt about it) I wanted to read something that I would devour quickly so I picked up Rites of Passage, which was one of my most anticipated releases the year, and devoured it in just over a day. However I just couldn’t bring myself to write a review of it. My review will not do this book justice so honestly you should all just go read it. If you’ve never heard of this book(which is very probable), here is the summary for you:

Sam McKenna’s never turned down a dare. And she’s not going to start with the last one her brother gave her before he died.

So Sam joins the first-ever class of girls at the prestigious Denmark Military Academy. She’s expecting push-ups and long runs, rope climbing and mud-crawling. As a military brat, she can handle an obstacle course just as well as the boys. She’s even expecting the hostility she gets from some of the cadets who don’t think girls belong there. What she’s not expecting is her fiery attraction to her drill sergeant. But dating is strictly forbidden and Sam won’t risk her future, or the dare, on something so petty…no matter how much she wants him.

As Sam struggles to prove herself, she discovers that some of the boys don’t just want her gone—they will stop at nothing to drive her out. When their petty threats turn to brutal hazing, bleeding into every corner of her life, she realizes they are not acting alone. A decades-old secret society is alive and active… and determined to force her out.
At any cost.

Now time’s running short. Sam must decide who she can trust…and choosing the wrong person could have deadly consequences.

There are many reasons as to why I loved this book so much. One of the reasons I loved it so much was because of how unique it was. I don’t know about the rest of you but I’ve never read a book set in the military before. It was weird and unusual to see how military schools run because it sounds like so much hard work. Seriously, how does anyone survive through military school? I think everyone who has deserves a big round of applause for being so damn strong and brave. What I also loved about it was that it showed that sexism is still very much a problem today. The main character, Sam, is part of the first girls class at the DMA and most of the other students don’t think she should be there and she goes through a lot to prove herself. And this takes me on to another reason why I loved it so much. Sam was a strong character. Think of the strongest female protagonist you’ve read about. Now multiply that strength by about 100 and you still are not on the levels of how strong Sam was. Sam had it a lot worse than the other girls and even the other boys in the class. They kept pushing her, trying to get her to break so that she’d leave, but she never did. She wanted to stay and she fought hard. Even when her life was at risk and everyone was trying to get her to leave, she stayed. Sam may just be the best female protagonist ever(closely followed by Celaena of course).

What I also loved about this book was the wide range of supporting characters. Being part of a military school, she was part of a company and while some wanted her gone, some protected her with their lives. The other girls were strong too and I applaud them for making it through even one day of the school. Some of the other members, including Kelly, were just amazing. Also, I have to mention Drill. Drill was the drill sergeant in charge of her company and he was just fabulous. He protected, like he was meant to, despite his cadet colonels(mainly Matthews) making her life hell.

I honestly don’t know what else to say. This book was fast-paced and I just couldn’t put it down. A perfect blend of action and romance, surprising readers from start to finish. You guys should definitely go read this book. Joy N. Hensley has an amazing writing style and this was such a great debut novel. I can’t wait for any future books from her because if they are anything like this, I’m sure I’ll love it. The ending to Rites of Passage left it open so that there’s room for a sequel so I really hope there is because I want to know more about this characters. Let’s get down to my ratings:

Plot: 98%. The story line was just so perfect and I loved it so much.

Cover: 85%. It’s not the most eye catching cover but I do enjoy it.

Protagonist:  99%. She was amazing and perfect.

Characters: 95%. I loved all the characters so much(the ones I’m meant to like anyway).

Love story:  94%. Stunning romance that wasn’t instalove which makes me incredibly happy.

Writing: 98%. The writing was beautiful. I felt every single emotion while reading this.

Pacing: 98%. I was completely hooked from start to finish.

Overall: 98.2%.

This book was so amazing and this review really doesn’t do it justice. Go read this book now because I predict that this book may become big soon.

 

Sofia

3 thoughts on “Rites of Passage by Joy N Hensley

Leave a Reply

