August Wrap Up

It is the end of August so here is my August Wrap Up. I made an August TBR at the start of the month so at the end I shall be comparing my wrap up to my TBR to see how I did. Also, I’ve scheduled this post to go up on the last day of August but I will be on holiday then as I am going to Turkey starting on the 25th August so this may not be all the books I read in August or it may be them all. I’m not sure if I will read anything while on holiday but we’ll see. Let’s get started on my wrap up. So far this month I’ve read 1 novella,1 manga,1 non-fiction and 8 novels.

The first book I read this month was Silver Shadows by Richelle Mead. This is the fifth book in the bloodlines series and my favourite one yet. I really love this series and this was one of my most anticipated releases of the year and I absolutely adored it. Everything about this book was amazing. If you want to know more about how I felt about this book, click here to go read my spoiler free review. I obviously gave this book 5 out of 5 stars and I am dying to read the final book in this series.

The next book I read this month was a manga and that was the Clockwork Princess manga. The only manga I’ve ever read has been the manga versions of the Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare so of course when the final book finally came out in manga form, I had to get it. I loved this manga because I thought it showed off the emotion of the book very well and the art was beautiful. However, it was slightly confusing at times. I think if I wasn’t such a big fan of the series and if I didn’t know exactly what happened and when it happened, I would have been completely lost at times. Nevertheless, I gave this manga 5 out of 5 stars.

The next book I read was Roomies by Sara Zarr and Tara Altebrando. I wasn’t planning on reading this book but I got in the post from Bookbridgr and I just decided to read it that day. I ended up reading the whole book in one day and I did really enjoy it. However there were some things I didn’t like about it so I only gave it 4 out of 5 stars. If you’re interested, check out my spoiler free review of it.

The next book I read was Alienated by Melissa Landers. I was originally planning on reading this on the plane but I just decided one night to pick it up and read it so I did and I absolutely loved it. This book was honestly amazing and I highly recommend it especially if you’re a fan of paranormal romance(I generally am not a fan of paranormal romance but this one was just amazing). I gave this book 5 out of 5 stars and I also did a full spoiler free review on it so click here to read it if you’re interested.

I then finally completed the book that took me most of the month to read and that was In A Handful of Dust by Mindy McGinnis.This is the sequel to Not a Drop to Drink and it comes out in September. This book was great and don’t take my slow reading pace as a bad thing about the book. I was just feeling lazy and I was busy so I never got much time to read it. But when I did get into it, I loved it. I highly recommend this series as I believe it’s a great dystopian. I did a full review on it, so click here to go read it. I ended up giving this book 4 out of 5 stars.

The next book I read was a novella and that was the extra epilogue to The One that Kiera Cass released. This may be cheating but hey, it counts on goodreads. This was so wonderful and cute and amazing and everything I could have wished for. I was fangirling and flailing and just squealing with delight. I’m so happy that Kiera Cass has decided to expand the Selection series because I love it so much and I can’t wait for the rest of the books. I, of course, gave this novella 5 out of 5 stars.

The next book I read was Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins. This book guys. It was utter perfection. I can’t believe this series is over. I want to mourn the end of such a fabulous series. If you haven’t read this series go pick it up now. I think Isla was my favourite out of the trilogy and I just loved it so much. Go check out my fangirly spoiler free review of it here. I also gave this book 5 out of 5 stars(duh).

The next book I read was Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson. Ahh. I enjoyed this book, I really did, but it was quite a disapppointment. It wasn’t what I was expecting but I still enjoyed it If you want to know my full opinion on it, check out my spoiler free review here. I ended up giving this book 3 out of 5 stars.

The next book I read this month was Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck. We had to read this for school but I ended up really liking it. I would have liked it a lot more if I didn’t have to fill in sheets and if I didn’t know what happened at the end. I still ended up giving this book 4 out of 5 stars.

The next book I finished this month was Cursed by Jennifer L Armentrout. I enjoyed this book but I had quite a few problems with it. It was generally okay. I wrote a full non-spoilery review on it so click here if you want to go read it. I gave this book 3 out of 5 stars.

The final book I read this month was the non fiction read of the month and it was Brunette Ambition by Lea Michele. I have been waiting for this book ever since it was announced and yesterday I finally got it on my kindle and I sat down and read it all day. It was amazing to read about her life and it was inspiring to read all of her tips and see all of her recipes. I really loved this book and I gave it 5 out of 5 stars.

Monthly Wrap Up:

Books at each star rating:

1 star: 0 books

2 stars: 0 books

3 stars: 2 books

4 stars:3 books

5 stars: 6 books

Favourite book of the month: Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins

TBR comparison:

  • Silver Shadows
  • Afterworlds
  • In a Handful of Dust
  • Shadow and Bone
  • Just Like the Movies
  • Isla and the Happily Ever After
  • Of Mice and Men
  • Rebel Belle
  • Since You’ve Been Gone( I am currently reading this one though)
  • Alienated

I read 5 books off of my TBR list which isn’t that bad. And while I didn’t read that many books, I’m proud of my reading this month because I really enjoyed most of my books and I actually found time to read. I may have read more than this but this is a scheduled post so I don’t know. Whatever books I do read, I shall add to my September wrap up. I will not be doing a September TBR because I’m going back to school and I don’t know how much I’ll be able to read.

Victorious reading month! P.S. Get used to this gif, you'll be seeing it a lot.
Victorious reading month!
P.S. Get used to this gif, you’ll be seeing it a lot.

Sofia

One thought on “August Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

