Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins

Last Thursday, Isla and the Happily Ever After finally came out and to say that I was excited would be an understatement. Ever since reading both Anna and the French Kiss and Lola and the Boy Next Door in December, I have been dying for Isla. I didn’t wait as long as most people did for Isla but it was still an agonising wait. The day it finally came out was my sister’s results day so I wasn’t able to read much of it but I was able to go into Waterstones and attend their Isla readathon for a short while, which was amazing so thank you very much YABirmingham for another fabulous event. I didn’t read much there but when I came home I was able to read half of it before going to a meal with my family to celebrate. I then woke up Friday morning and just sat in bed and read it all morning(mainly because I needed to calm my nerves about my Lauren Oliver interview) and let me just say this; Isla and the Happily Ever After was amazing. If you haven’t read this companion novel series, I strongly recommend it, especially if you enjoy romance novels. Even if you don’t, Anna and the French Kiss was the book that got me into them so I really do recommend them. Now, let’s start discussing Isla and the Happily Ever After.

As soon as I saw the book in front of me, this was basically my reaction.
As soon as I saw the book in front of me, this was basically my reaction.

The storyline of Isla was quite different to Anna and Lola. In Anna and Lola, the characters take the whole book to get together and the book focuses on them falling in love and realising how perfect they are for each other. However with Isla, both characters realise their feelings for each other quite early and it’s more about the journey of their relationship and having to deal with being separated. Even though it wasn’t about them falling in love, I loved the storyline of this one slightly more because it shows how things can change after people get into the relationship. Yes Anna and Lola are both amazing books but the books end with them getting together and we don’t see them going through their relationships(We do in the other books but we don’t get to focus on them dealing with typical couple problems). This is why I believe that Isla was slightly more believable because it shows that even after you fall in love, your life doesn’t automatically become perfect.

Another thing that made me love Isla a little bit more than the previous ones was because of Isla herself. Isla was most definitely my favourite out of all the girls just because I found myself relating to her a lot more than I did with the others. The way she reacted to certain things, while annoying sometimes, is exactly how I would have reacted. The way she doesn’t believe that someone could possibly love it just basically shows how much she is like me. I always over think what people do or say because I think there’s no way they could have just said it to be nice. Every stupid decision Isla made is a stupid decision that I would make. Isla was insecure yet not whiny and I think she’s an amazing protagonist. I would have loved to see her in another book as we did with Anna and Lola.

I was getting annoyed at Isla and then it dawned on me that I am Isla and this just went through my head.
I was getting annoyed at Isla and then it dawned on me that I am Isla and this just went through my head.

Josh was also bloody amazing. He still hasn’t beat Cricket but he’s just beat out St Clair because I love him. The way Josh acted around her just had me fangirling and squealing. I found myself smiling throughout any scene with Isla and Josh both in it because I loved seeing them interact. They are definitely my favourite couple out of the three and I really wish I had waited to make my Top 10 fictional couples list because they definitely would have made it on there. I’m not sure what else to say about Josh. He was perfection yet realistic and I want one. Seriously, somebody give me a relationship like Isla and Josh’s. We’ve already established that I am basically Isla, so somebody get me my Josh please. Thank you.

Any scene with them in, this was basically me.
Any scene with them in, this was basically me.

I can’t form a proper review of this book at this moment because I just want to fangirl and flail when I think about it so this will have to be it for now. But let me just tell you this; read this book. Seriously, drop everything and go read this book. If you haven’t even started this series yet, I suggest you just go to your local Waterstones/Barnes and Noble etc and just get them and read them because you will not regret it. Seriously go now. I gave this book 5 out of 5 stars on goodreads but if I could I’d give it 2133454789009697654 out of 5 stars because it deserves it.

 

Sofia

 

P.S. This was my reaction to Anna and St Clair in this book(if you've read it, you'll know why)
P.S. This was my reaction to Anna and St Clair in this book(if you’ve read it, you’ll know why)
One thought on “Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins

Leave a Reply

