July Book Haul

So today I thought I’d post my July book haul since it is the end of the month! It’s a very small one compared to others because I only got 12 books.This month I bought 5 books on my own, received 4 for review and my mother bought me 3 as well. Let’s just get started.

The first book I got at the start of this month is Landline by Rainbow Rowell. I, of course, pre-ordered this book from Amazon expecting it to arrive days after the release but it arrived on the day which I was incredibly happy about! I have of course read this book and have reviewed it, so click here if you are interested in reading it.  If we carry on that trend, the next two books I got were also by Rainbow Rowell and they were the special UK editions of Fangirl and Eleanor and Park. My mother bought me these and I was so happy when I got them. The UK special edition of Fangirl is probably the most beautiful book I have ever seen before in my life. I love it so much. I now own two copies of both of these books but I don’t mind because I love them both so dearly.

This month I got two books from the lovely YABirmingham group which I am eternally grateful for. I probably say this so much but I love them so much and I would like to thank them for everything they’ve done for me. Definitely go check them out(they have some amazing events coming soon). This month they gave me a beautiful finished hardcover copy of Not a Drop to Drink by Mindy McGinnis which I have already read, loved and reviewed so click here to go read my review of it. They also kindly gave me a proof copy of the sequel, In A Handful of Dust which doesn’t come out until September. I haven’t read this one yet because I’ve been quite busy recently, however I shall be picking it up very soon and writing a review.

I only got two books via Bookbridgr this month. I’ve requested 5 this month yet only this two has arrived. Hopefully, the others should be arriving soon. The one I got was The Book Of Life by Deborah Harkness, which is the final book in the All Souls trilogy. As soon as I requested this one I regretted it because I haven’t read the first two in the trilogy and while they seemed interesting at first, they have become less interesting over time. However, I have got the other two on my kindle so I shall hopefully be reading this trilogy at one point! I did however feel really bad after requesting it and I wish there was some way that I could have cancelled my request. The other book I got was Conquest by Jennifer Ridyard  and John Connolly. I had never heard of this book before seeing it but after reading the synopsis I got hooked. I shall definitely be reading this soon. This book doesn’t come out until late August so hopefully I shall read it before it’s release.

I got three books from the Works from when I went shopping earlier this week. If you are unaware about what the Works is, it is this UK based store that sells a whole range of things at ridiculously low prices. The books are always 3 for £5 or £1.99 each which is ridiculously cheap. Usually they don’t have a good range, but they get new stock every few weeks and they sometimes have some good books. However, if you see a book in the Works, it is recommended you buy it there and then because once they sell out of that particular book, they don’t restock it. I learnt that the hard way with the Delirium trilogy! However this month I got The 100 by Kass Morgan. The TV series recently started in the UK and there has been a lot of buzz about it recently. I really want to watch the TV series but I feel like reading the book first especially since it is a stand alone and it probably won’t take me that long to read. I also got A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens. I have been wanting to read more classics and the Works have a whole classics section with matching covers so I thought I’d buy one of those. I chose this one particularly because this book is talked about quite often in YA novels and I never know what they are talking about so I wanted to read it. The final book I got that day was a bind up of The Hound of the Baskervilles and the Valley of Fear both by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. I got this because next year for my English GCSE, we have to read The Hound of the Baskervilles but I thought I’d get a headstart and start reading it this summer.

Yesterday while at Waterstones, I decided to buy two books that I’ve wanted for a while. I finally bought a physical copy of Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins. This is one of my favourite books so of course I’ve been dying to get a physical copy. I was also planning on buying a physical copy of Anna and the French Kiss but they didn’t have any. Hopefully when I buy Isla, I shall also buy a copy of Anna as well so that I can own the whole series. I then bought the  Clockwork Princess Manga. I own the other two in Manga form and I have read them and loved them so I can’t wait to dive into this one. However I am not looking forward to reading certain scenes and actually seeing them as well.

So that’s all the physical books I got this month. As always, I got many books on my kindle but again that list would be too long to share with you and it would make me feel guilty for getting so many! See you soon with another post.

Sofia

 

Leave a Reply

