July Wrap Up

So another month has come and gone which means it’s wrap up time! I did well this month because I reviewed quite a lot of the books I read! I did however read a few short stories and novellas that are online for everyone to see so I have some I haven’t reviewed. I won’t be saying too much about the books I read this month because most of them have reviews or are short stories but I thought I’d do a reading wrap up anyway. I didn’t read as many books this month as I did in June because I’m feeling slumpish at the moment. However I still thought I’d do one anyway because I feel like blogging.

The first book I finished this month was Landline by Rainbow Rowell. This book came out on the third in the UK and of course, I had pre-ordered the book expecting to arrive over the weekend but it came on the day! I finished it 2 days later and of course I absolutely loved it. I did a review on it so click here if you want to read it. I gave this book 5 out of 5 stars and I definitely recommend it if you like Rainbow Rowell.

This was basically how I felt throughout the whole book.
This was basically how I felt throughout the whole book.

The next day I read On the Fence by Kasie West in one sitting. I loved this book because it was just a nice simple contemporary. It was fun and light hearted just as I expected. I also did a whole review based on this book so click here if you want to read it. I ended up giving this book 4 out of 5 stars  and I recommend it as a fun light hearted read.

Next up I finally finished Just One Day by Gayle Forman. I started this book in June but never finished it because I found it so incredibly boring. I really did not enjoy this book because it was not at all what I expected. Instead of being a fun romance, it turned out to be a self discovery book and I really didn’t enjoy it even though I had expected to. I love If I Stay by Gayle Forman so I’m incredibly disappointed in it. I gave this book 2 out of 5 stars unfortunately.

This is basically how I felt throughout the book.
This was me during this. Sorry.

For some reason I decided to read Just One Night by Gayle Forman next which again took days for me to read despite it being a novella. I again found this incredibly boring and didn’t enjoy it at all. This again got a 2 out of 5 stars from me.

I then read Not a Drop to Drink by Mindy McGinnis which I got from the lovely people at YABirmingham so thank you very much. I really enjoyed this book because it was a fast paced dystopian read which I loved. I wrote a whole review on this book so click here to go see it. I gave this book 4 out of 5 stars and I recently got my hands on the sequel so I shall be reading that very soon.

The next book I read was A Grimm Warning by Chris Colfer which is the third book in the Land of Stories series. I absolutely adored this book. It was definitely my favourite out of the series so far. If you haven’t picked up this series yet, I strongly recommend you do. I wrote a whole review on this book so click here to go read this review. I, of course, gave this book 5 out of 5 stars.

I then read Breathe, Annie, Breathe by Miranda Kenneally which was the fifth book in the Hundred Oaks series. I really loved this installment and this book was definitely my favourite of the books so far. I strongly recommend this series as a nice fun contemporary series. I again wrote a whole review on this book so click here to go read it. I gave this book 4 out of 5 stars.

I then went on a short story binge and read all these free short stories online from some of my favourite series. I first read The Meeting by Richelle Mead. I didn’t enjoy this much and that was probably because I don’t particularly like Dimitri. I ended up giving this book 2 out of 5 stars. I then read Adrian’s Lost Chapter by Richelle Mead. I loved this book because Adrian is one of my favourite characters so I of course loved reading from his perspective. I gave this book 4 out of 5 stars. I then read Homecoming by Richelle Mead, another short story about Dimitri. This one I enjoyed slightly more but again didn’t like that much. I gave this book 3 out of 5 stars.

I then read the two Throne of Glass short stories which I absolutely loved. The first one I read was the Assassin and the Princess which I absolutely adored and then I read The Assassin and the Captain which I also loved. I love these stories and I can’t wait for Heir of Fire. I gave both of these stories 5 out of 5 stars.

The last short story I read was Vulcans Are Hot by Stephanie Perkins. I absolutely loved this one because it was so amazing and funny. I, of course, gave this one 5 out of 5 stars.

The last book I read this month wasBiggest Flirts by Jennifer Echols. This was another cute contemporary which I flew through. I read it so quickly that I honestly don’t remember much of it so I won’t be writing a review of it. However I loved the main girl because she was different and unique. Will, the love interest, was alright but I didn’t fall in love with him. I’m excited for the rest of the books in this new series by her because I think they will just be nice and fun. I gave this book 4 out of 5 stars.

Monthly wrap up:

Favourite book: Landline by Rainbow Rowell

Books at each star level:

1 star: 0 books

2 stars: 3 books

3 stars: 1 book

4 stars: 5 books

5 stars: 5 books

 

That’s all the books I read this month. It was an up and down month and I wish I had read more but I don’t mind reading less. I’ve been doing other things this month. Hopefully in August I shall read more.

Sofia

Leave a Reply

